mis à jour   Last minute

Help create a sustainable homestead and explore beautiful Boulder, Colorado, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 104 fois
  • Activité récente: 14 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Greetings,
    My name is Joel and I am a Colorado native, music aficionado, Spanish (and kinda German) speaker, and active/adventurous bon-vivant. The only label I've found that actually might fit me is 'multipotentialite' as I have had a long and varied career involving the Medical Field, Tech Startups, Ships, Antarctic Research, Renewable Energy, Homebuiliding, and probably another half-dozen things. I love to travel - with all 7 continents on my passport - and meet and get to know folks from different cultures all over the world. The whole pandemic has actually shifted my focus lately more toward finishing up projects at home and realizing a creative vision for a green, sustainable house in my adopted hometown of Boulder.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide à la maison
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Involvement can be just lending a hand on various tasks or it could go much deeper with learning more about any of these trades/skills listed above (or perhaps even teaching me depending on YOUR experience!). Additionally, Boulder is a cultural, educational, spiritual, and adventure mecca. I'm always game to try and improve my Spanish skills and/or try to pick up a new language (including music, as it were).

  • Aide

    Aide

    The work projects are really varied (depending on your abilities/aspirations as well as the seasonal logistics), though all fit within the framework of making things more sustainable, eco-friendly, and self-sufficient. The work schedule can be quite flexible as well, though on the order of 15-20 hours in a given week and will include:

    Installing PV Solar Panels
    Building a Greenhouse
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Building a Climbing Wall
    Hydro/Aquaponics
    Landscaping/Xeriscaping
    A Chicken Coop(??)
    Many other building trades (electrical, plumbing, framing, welding)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I'm not formally learning/teaching any languages now, though always game to give it a try and expand my knowledge.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The living situation will be in a new above-garage loft that’s being built out, so it’s separate from, but attached to the main house. It’s a work in progress, though it has the most spectacular mountain views on the property and even its own sunny balcony w/spiral stairs! The basic creature comforts are there - private, partitioned, isolated area with window, bed, dresser, mirror…and part of the work can go toward finishing it out more, if desired. It's reached the point of being prety self-contained with a kitchenette (mini-fridge, cooktop, microwave, water kettle)...and even it's own basic bathroom with toilet/shower. I would be living up there myself, except my pets aren't quite ready for that transition. There are also a couple other housemates in the main house who are friendly and have some good stories around travel, work, life, etc. too, so there could likely be some back-yard hangouts, games, outings amongst us all on occasion.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Some of the many fun and interesting things to check out in the immediate vicinity include:
    Mountain/Road Biking
    Climbing/Hiking
    Skiing/Snowboarding (yes!…prob. into June/July still)
    Kayaking/Tubing/Swimming on the Creek
    Culinary School
    Cafes/Brewpubs/Trivia
    The Startup Business Scene
    Education and Science (NREL, NIST, NOAA, U of Colorado)
    Music/Arts Scene

    ...and chances are that I (or my friends and local co-ops, etc.) have some gear and recommendations to share on all this or other pursuits

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Decent bandwidth internet at the house and I myself pop off to some of the cafes, etc. for some work (actually, it's where I am right now!)

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Street parking is def available and can happen for a shorter stay (sans direct hookups, and per local ordinances etc. would still prob have to be sleeping in the house). For something longer, I actually have a space in my oversized garage (yes, it can fit) with hookups that could be a win-win for a more comfortable space that you're used to. That might be a slightly upgraded scenario than the one posted, but probably workable, so let's talk!

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    I have a dog and a cat already (both friendly) so any additional pets will have to be compatible and well mannered/behaved.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3-4 hours/day...or 15-20 hours/week w/flexibility on exact schedule (and more hours for pay possible)

N° de référence hôte : 124192433635

Feedback (7)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Learn how to live sustainably, grow food and live simply with a non-profit in Kurtistown, Hawaii, USA
Join our family in our home in the San Francisco Bay area, USA