Indoor outdoor maintenance, gardening & caring for pets in Bodrum, Turkey

Country

Turquie

Enregistré comme favori 189 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.03.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live with my family of two mongrel sheep dog plus one cat, gardening & landscaping 7/24. If ever have some spare time, I swim, read, write, cook and enjoy the company of some visiting friends and family.

    Me & my pets, we live around the sun: get up before it and go to bed soon as it sets, in a unique, remote/isolated setting on the slopes of the Bay of Gokova, at the tip of the Aegean, in Mazi village, near Bodrum town in Mugla province.

    The property is 7 thousand square metres, mostly olive trees; no neighbours in sight, surrounded by (on two sides) pine forest with plenty of wild life and exquisite view of the Bay of Gokova.

    I do not eat and for that matter cook red meat; occasionally enjoy locally caught fresh fish (if!) or cook chicken.

    I do love to propagate plants, especially agaves hence constantly busy mixing soil, potting, re-potting'; when in season harvest olives and have it pressed; yummy extra extra virgin olive oil!

    I love reading, especially history & philosophy of gardening and gardens; as a matter of fact I have written a book on the history of this particular garden in Turkish: Binbir Bahce Masallari, is its title.

    Before I chose to settled down in this remote place almost 20 years ago, I have travelled widely and lived in Canada as an infant, studied & lived in the UK & USA and lived in Argentina.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Apart from experiencing local Turkish culture, I can try help them learn basic Turkish; teach some Turkish cooking; gardening, soil mixing for special plants, compost sorting; pet care. And when it is the season/year, how to prick and treat olives, experience of olive oil pressing at a local press when & if the season/year.

    Volunteer/s can learn how to maintain draught tolerant, dry garden plants; plan & landscape on a temperate to extreme climatic zone and on a steep land; some pruning; potting & re-potting, propagating plants, tending a green house; how to handle compost.

    For ecology & environmental & horticultural enthusiast both the region and the property was a heaven, until the devastating 20021 August forest fire! There are mountains, beaches, no more forests with wild animals tough we hope they will return in the near future. 20 minutes drive away from our village there is a wet land where even flamingos stop over during migration period; from flora point of view it was also an experience with many native varieties of carob, sage, lavender, oregano, thyme, arbutus, chaste tree, agaves galore, . . an endless choice to explore for enthusiasts most of which burned; but fortunately some are reviving in my property.

    Local fresh product markets are a feast to visit and shop, especially for vegetarians!

    Providing they are careful with Covid-19 rules, volunteers can explore the many historical sites starting from the nearest & famous town of Bodrum (ancient site of Halicarnassos). The province of Mugla has many ancient sites from Neolithic to Ottoman, with ancient Greek, Roman, Lycian and more, in between.

    Or the volunteer can simply enjoy the isolated setting to research online, read, write, swim and sun bath (depending on the season) on our nearby beaches or simply take some time off meditating, enjoy doing nothing in her/his spare time.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Compost sorting, hoeing, manuring the trees, cutting and chopping trees, pruning, dead-heading, sweeping leaves; preparing beds and soil; some landscaping.

    I should let the potential volunteer/s know that life starts by sun rise.

    Pet sitting and grooming will be part of the help expected from the volunteers.

    Help with routine house cleaning.

    Transportation is provided upon arrival and departure from Mazi village centre; the volunteer/s has to use the local "mini-bus" service which has a scheduled service to & from Bodrum town.

    Volunteers are expected to strictly respect Covid-19 & its variants' health, hygiene rules.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Turc: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There is a one room independent cottage with a shower & WC and an outdoor kitchen.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I have given most of the information on what volunteers can do in their free time above. So here I add a few more lines on our life here and what a volunteer can expect:

    To give more on our life style over here I can say that we live a very spartan and environmentally conscious life: save water & electricity is one of our major criteria. Living extremely organised due to distances; can't afford to say "oops I forgot to buy wine or toilet paper": the next/nearest shopping is half an hour away.

    Another important criteria is alertness, along with attention, detail consciousness.

    A volunteer should be reliable, practical, organised, should have a creative mind to solve problems when & if they occur with whatever available at hand.

    We live by checking the weather report couple of times a day between October-April, to make sure that we put the cushions in before a midnight rain -not that it rains often but one has to be cautious; or to be able to un-plug computers, wi-fi, hi-fi before going to bed at night and also before a thunderstorm and lightnings arrive.

    Since this is a remote place it is ideal for someone who will be content with not having a night life or missing going out to have a drink or two while chatting with other people: social life does not exist in the vicinity especially during off season!

    It is an ideal setting for a single person (or a couple) who is content with by her/himself into reading, writing, researching/studying online or looking for inspiration in nature which might (for some at least) require rather solitary life.

    Also, volunteer/s should be aware that there is no central heating nor air-conditioner in the accommodation provided.

    By experience I have learned that some volunteers have a tendency to think or behave as if they are in a hotel or hostel, this is neither: Guests, volunteers are requested to respect house rules, keep their premises clean and help & share with domestic house work such as cooking, washing up, cleaning.

    An last but not least, this is not a working farm or a retreat where there will be other volunteers to socialise with.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Plenty space to park in and around the property. Though parts of the terrain is rough and steep.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 812969528973