Family-scale permaculture project in Amealco, Querétaro, Mexico

  • Enregistré comme favori 22 fois
  • Activité récente: 13 févr. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines



  • Description


    Hello Workawayers,

    We are a family of four (2 adults and 2 kids) working on our permaculture dream. Two years ago we decided to move from the city to the countryside. We live 3hrs away from Mexico City, in Amealco, which used to be mainly an oak tree forest. Here, there is a growing community devoted to protecting the environment and trying a different lifestyle. We are currently working on our family scale permaculture project and our school project (we run a small school for children aged 4 to 9). And together with some friends we have a reforestation project, our goal is to regenerate about 15 acres.

    We have been fortunate to live in other countries and we enjoy meeting new friends from all over the world. We speak English and French. I am a research professor in Public Health and my partner works at an NGO that supports farmers in Mexico.

    We live in an eco home (earth bag home); we collect rain water, use composting toilets and have solar energy. We’d love to share our passion for permaculture and Mexican culture. Oh and we have a horse!

    We would love to host people interested in living in the countryside, who enjoy nature and who like being with kids. The accommodation that we can provide is comfortable and simple.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We love meeting new people. We can help you with your Spanish and share what we know about gardening and permaculture. You can also learn how to cook traditional Mexican dishes (mostly vegetarian). We are part of a vibrant community so joining our farmers market and our “tequios “ (days when we help others with their DIY projects ) would be a great experience. If you are interested in global health or farming, we are happy to share what we know. Where we live is a traditional rural town, with a large indigenous population and not super touristy so you would be able to get a taste of rural Mexican life.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We’d love help playing with our 4 year old. He is very active and curious. We’d also like help with our garden and reforestation project. There is also the option of helping at the small school, teaching a class, organizing movie screenings, etc., but the main activity is to play with our son so he can be exposed and learn from people from all over the world.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You will have your own room and will share the composting toilet and shower. The room is built of stones and it is simple yet cozy ! You can have access to the kitchen and are welcome to join the family meals. We'd love to host people who are comfortable living in a rural setting.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are close to interesting places such as Peña de Bernal and San Miguel de Allende. You can have access to a bike to explore the rural area.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 186712988872

Feedback (1)



Creating a permaculture, yoga retreat center and natural conservation project in San Sebastian del Oeste, Mexico
Help in a yoga and meditation center, Mexico