Help at our animal sanctuary and to start a food forest in Waimamaku, New Zealand

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

Enregistré comme favori 25 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    25.08.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 11 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a vegan same-sex couple running an animal sanctuary with 16 cows and calves, 2 sheep, 2 ducks, and 16 chickens currently. We are also starting a food forest and restoring the farm with native bush. Our end goal is also to have a sanctuary for females that need a safe space from the world to heal for a while, using the animals, garden, and forest to help them heal. Because at any time we may be helping someone vulnerable, we are only looking for females that have good emotional intelligence, communication and calm demeanors.

    Both Emily and Zara work part-time. Emily studies part-time as well and otherwise, we are busy with the sanctuary and restoration projects.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We can teach many things like living sustainably, low-carbon lifestyles, vegan cooking and food, basic permaculture, English, basic French, basic Maori, building skills, gardening, propagation of plants, how to look after animals, sustainable grazing, up close relationships with ducks, cows and chickens. We love card and board games.
    We are also a nurse that is working in forest restoration and studying climate change strategies and a Zara does websites and social media marketing.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would expect help 4 days a week for 4 hours in exchange for a room, amenities (internet, bathrooms etc) and food. Depending on the situation at the time this might be cooking, gardening, propagating plants in the nursery, planting plants, helping with the animals (feeding chickens, counting the cows, looking after any that need special care), weeding the paddocks, helping make fences or troughs etc. There are opportunities for artists of any medium to also contribute that way, making the farm more interesting and fun. We have project ideas that we just will never get to that artists can also help with.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant
    Maori: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    People coming here would need their own car and be ok eating and cooking plant-based food while here.
    You would have your own room in the house with us, or a caravan that is about 2 paddocks away. The house has electricity, tv, unlimited wifi, 1 toilet and bath/shower inside and hotwater. The caravan is located away from the house by its own little pond and has a small solar unit for lights and charging. It has a sink and running water and an outside toilet (should be finished by then). Those using the caravan could come to use the house and its facilities when needed.
    The farm has some cellphone signal, but only a few bars here and there. In the house there is good Vodafone reception.

    Food is provided and we assume you would eat with us, but you may do whatever suits you best.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    No smokers. Our 80 acres are partially forested, set at the end of a gravel road with beautiful NZ rainforest hikes only 2kms down the road. We are close to Tane Mahuta, beaches, Kai iwi lakes, the Hokianga and giant sand dunes.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 4 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 592229788398