Help Sami family with kids, at home in Karasjok, Norway

  • Norvège
  • Enregistré comme favori 317 fois
  • Activité récente: 22 sept. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus



  • Description


    Hi! :)

    ---> We are looking for help from 25th of august 2023, do you want to come and help us during the autumn work and experience the autumn work with reindeer? We also need help from 15th of octobre - 2024 <---

    Thank you!

    We are a family of 5. We have two daughters, 2 years and 5 years old, and one son, who is 7,5 years old.

    We live in Karasjok, in Northern Norway, a bit outside the center (6 km), in a quiet, beautiful place.

    I, Sire Márjá, work at home (office and guiding) with our company, and my man, Per Ailu, is a reindeer herder. We run a tourist company together with Piera Ailus nephew, Bjørn Petter. Now we are preparing for the spring season 2023, and we are really excited for that!

    In generally we need help at home, to housekeeping, babysitting, and to everyday chores and mainentance around the house. During the year different tasks may be, depending on the season and on the reindeer, but the main work is with tasks in the house and helping with the kids.

    Our year looks like this:


    In july we will also need help for some mainentance work, as painting the garage lists and also the terasse floor.
    There may also be some other outside work, like taking care of plants and more.

    When we are home then you will be helping with different kind of house tasks as well, like watching the kids, laundry, cleaning the house, helping with cooking and so on.

    You will have your own bicycle, and we will also have people around and in our family who can take you to karasjok center if / when needed. This period you will have the opportunity to sleep in our lavvo what we also rent out to guests, and to join us to our cabin for weekends if we are going there.

    In august the kids go back school and kindergarden. This period we stay at home and in the free tim we go berrie picking, as cloudberries, blueberries and lingon berries. We also go to our hut in the weekends.

    September / October:
    Autumn is very hectical, and a time we need help, here at home, and also when we together go to the area where we collect and slaughter the reindeer. (20th of september - 10th of october)

    November - April:
    In winter time (november - april) we also need help to feed the reindeer we keep in our garden and clean their surroundings, and take them for a walk. (if you feel comfortable with this, if not then it is ok) We tame the reindeer for keeping an old tradition alive) During this period we may also go to our hut at the winter grazing land with snow mobile.

    In April starts the spring's most beautiful journey. Spring migration to the calving area and to summer pasture. In April we begin to feed and collect the reindeer herd, and around 20.04 the spring migration starts and lasts for about 5--7 days. When we get back to Karasjok, we have the reindeer in the fence to separate the female reindeer from the male reindeer. This is a unique chance to experience the most beautiful journey. You will be with us on the snowmobile, when we start the migration, and help out with the kids.

    May / June:
    During 15th of may – 15th of june we herd the female reindeers 24/7 while they are giving birth to reindeer calves, to prevent attacks from predatures like eagles, bears, wolverines, lynx and even crows. This period we need help especially to take care of the kids, and to everyday chores. This is very hectical period, because we also are working with tourists. If you visit us this period, you will have the chance to experience reindeer calving, witch is very rare to experience. Our company offers tours for small groups to our calving reindeer herd.

    This period we will be having guided tours every day ( if we have bookings) :), so your main tasks this period will be at home with kids and everyday chores,

    In june after the reindeer calves are born, we will move the reindeer herd to the mountains. But first we will mark the calves. You will get to be there with us, and help us with the kids out there.

    We are looking for an independent and self going person who is able to see work after instructions are given.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will get to learn alot about our culture, the sami people, reindeer herding, about the place Karasjok, and generally about Norway as a country, especially the arctic here in Northern Norway. In spring time, from may to june, you will also experience reindeer calving, wich is a unique opportunity to see new born reindeer calves.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We need mostly help at home, to housekeeping, babysitting, and generally to everyday chores. This is a must if you come this period to be able to help with. We also need help for feeding the reindeer and cleaning their surroundings.

    Our kids go to the kindergarden and at school at day time, so I mainly need help to cook dinner, help with laundry,  (I have dryer, so we dont have to hang the laundry, only wool clothing) and for cleaning.

    I would need help to clean after dinner, and with the kids after school and kindergarden.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant
    Sami: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Finnish: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    You will stay in our cosy caravan, so you have your own room and space. You will stay with us as a family member, and we can offer u a warm and cosy home in your work period here in Karasjok.

    We hope to hier from you, and we hope you find our place interesting. ☺️

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Here in Karasjok you can do alot of activities. We have dog sledding here, good cross country skiing opportunities, a small slalom hill, and alot of beautiful nature.

    In the summer time you can go to the beach, try salmon fishing, hiking in the woods, canoeing, experience mosquito paradise (haha), and alot other fun stuff.

    Autumn here is very hectical period for us, with reindeer work, as collecting the reindeer, slaughtering, moving the herd to the winter land, and working with the meat after the season. This is something you can participate when working with us this period, wich starts about 20.09-10.10, depending on the reindeer.

    Autumn is also berry season, cloudberry, cranberry and blueberry. We often go and pick berries. And autumn is also hunting season for grouse and elk. We dont hunt, because we have enough with the reindeer work.

    you can also visit cultural places, the sami parlament is located here in Karasjok, you can go to the museum, and we have an art gallery here as well.

    The nature here is beautiful, so living here, is and can be very peaceful. The center is small, but the people here are nice and friendly.

    We live 6 km outside the village, so you can either borrow our car if you want to see or visit places nearby, or you can join us when we have errands in the village. You dont have to have a car license to work here, just so you know :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 576598219577

Feedback (7)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Enjoy island life and help us with building, renovation, maintenance and gardening on Storholmen (Kvamsøy) Norway
Innovative content studio, beach cleanups, recycling projects and DIY and building projects in Ålesund, Norway