Enjoy a cultural exchange in our family home in a tiny village near Berlin, Germany

Country

Allemagne

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 86 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    02.04.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an active, multicultural (Australian-German) family of five with three wonderful boys between 2 and 7 years. Our good friend of many years, Anna, joined us last summer. Together we live in a former bar converted into a house with lots of spirit and space for family and friends. The former dancehall, when not a giant play space for kids, is used for cultural events bringing some diverse culture to the country side. The fireplace and sauna help to survive the grey and gold winter days.

    We have bees and chickens, herb and vegetable gardens, a bonfire circle, greenhouse, and a natural pool which invites a refreshing splash or wake-up dip on the sunny days.

    We try to live as organic as possible, sustainability deep in our hearts. The house and garden transform throughout the year with the seasons, as does the experience of them.

    Any creative minds interested in doing a small art project or installation (maybe involving the kids) are very welcome!

    Also, we are looking at a new way to help with the daily tasks around supporting our kids as Kate returns to practising as a psychologist - maybe you are interested in aupair or nannying with us?

    We have a grand piano, a trumpet and some ukuleles and love to hear music and singing in the house!

    Of course, we are always happy to help with german language learning if you would like that.

    We are new Workaway hosts but we have already had wonderful experiences and are looking forward to many more :).

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Cuisine / courses
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les langues
    Projet artistique

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Living in the old east German countryside provides a unique perspective of Germany. In our family we have Australian, Italian and Spanish roots and we love the ongoing multicultural exchange our Workaway guests bring.

    We regularly (over summer nearly every day) have visitors from around the globe, who bring interesting perspectives to the dining table.

    You will be welcomed in a social circle which is very open and interested.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Its a big old house with an even bigger garden, so a pair of extra hands is very welcome to plant, harvest, cut, repair, tidy, build, paint, cook, play, dig, and design. There is always lots to be done!

    The three kids are very sociable and happy about an extra portion of attention: kicking the ball through the garden, baking cakes, reading books, etc. We are open to someone who would like to do more kid-caring :).

    Projects in the pipeline:
    - art installation on house walls and in garden
    - finishing the little wagon for summer guest accommodation
    - converting a Trabant from petrol to electric drive
    - building a fully self sufficient straw bale house, which turns with the sun
    - organising community film nights
    - reviving the dance hall for concerts and events
    - leaving populism behind us
    - reducing our waste and consumerism

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    German and English

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are four guests rooms in the main house with shared and separate bathrooms. The kitchen and loungeroom are common spaces. We are also in the process (help welcome!) of converting a former bee wagon into a little paradise at the end of the garden, which provides a separate and children free zone.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The beautiful Brandenburg countryside - a great place to enjoy open spaces and fresh air.

    Our village is peaceful and friendly, surrounded by fields and forests (deer, wild boar, foxes, badgers, moles, hawks, cranes, wild geese, maybe even a wolf!) with a sweet swimming lake nearby. We offer guest bikes.

    The magnificent Berlin is easily accessible by train (<1 hour from Main Station) and we can offer people a lift to and from the local train station (Briesen Mark, 15 minutes away). There is a bus, albeit very infrequent, that can allow guests to be entirely independent.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








N° de référence hôte : 532347887783