Celebrating homesteading, families, and community in the beautiful area of Tampa Bay, Florida

Country

États-Unis

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 227 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    16.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    96.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family in the rural Tampa area who have had people come stay on our property for days, weeks, months at a time. We love having them here as it adds so much to our life experience. We live on approximately 2 acres in Dover, FL 25 min drive from downtown Tampa and Busch Gardens, an hour to Orlando theme parks, and an hour to pretty much any beach from Sarasota up to Tarpon Springs. Tampa is a tourist spot, but there are opportunities for exploring nature with the many cold water springs, county, and state parks. Local events happen regularly, ranging from the Plant city Strawberry Festival, the Florida State Fair, to the Sustainable Living Convergence, cosplay conferences, and more. Our home is surrounded by gardens and fruit trees. We have goats, chickens, rabbits, and a play area with lots of space to run.  We have a busy little homestead!  The kids are frequently playing outside while we are doing some sort of grounds project.  We love hosting workawayers and having community!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Workawayers will have opportunities to learn about sustainable living, permaculture practices, growing food, homesteading, homeschooling, the enjoyment of foods that are both nourishing and delicious, self-reliance and empowerment.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    *edited Sept 2021*
    Our shipping container home is currently in use by another wonderful workaway couple. However, if you have your own roof - camper van, or tent you are comfortable staying in, please read the entire profile, and shoot us an inquiry answering the questions below. Right now our biggest needs are starting and caring for seeds for the garden and house cleaning projects, shed building. We have workawayers lined up for Mid Nov through April.
    ****************

    We have many ideas and dreams for the property that we want to make a reality and would be immensely grateful having help making them happen! Some of them include:
    Beautifying the property with paintings on the compost toilet and privacy fence and signs labeling our fruit trees and gardens.
    Building a chicken coop and repairing a goat barn.
    Tending the garden and food forest, starting seeds, planting, weeding, watering, and mowing.
    Caring for animals (goats, chickens, rabbits).
    Chop wood
    House updates - replace soffit and fascia
    Sometimes, I just need help keeping up with the house chores - sweeping, dishes, etc. as being a mother of four, homeschooling, volunteering with multiple organizations, and the homestead gets to be a lot!

    We are also excited about unique talents and passions that you may possess that may enhance our ability to meet our objectives as a collective.

    Ideally, we desire to be community minded and want people to WANT to help out in a way that is *effortless* for everyone. We are grateful for community and camaraderie, teaching and learning, creating and giving back to the earth. We enjoy working together on bigger projects and occasionally ask for help with tasks when we are not around. There is always a running list of things that can be done in your own time. But generally, we are looking for 10 hours a week per adult in exchange for accommodation. We are not offering meals at the time as we can hardly afford the food prices ourselves. Workawayers are always welcome to eat edibles from the property.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Tent, van, and car camping is welcome. We may have electric hookup for RVs during the off season but they are usually booked solid from October to March. We have an outdoor shower, compost toilet, water, electric outlet, community kitchen, and laundry facilities available. We have "tiny" shipping container (currently occupied with a long-term workaway couple) home for our workawayers that houses the community kitchen. It has electric and a/c with a full size refrigerator, 2 beds (one queen and one full), seating, wardrobe, etc. Meals would have to be discussed as what we can provide depends on many factors (where we are financially, diet, how many people being accommodated, and how often, etc). *We are not providing meals right now. Just accommodations in exchange for 10 hrs a week.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Tampa Bay, the surrounding areas including Orlando, and the state of Florida in general have so much to offer! Beautiful beaches, fun theme parks, rich cultural and historical options, and gorgeous weather (November - May unless you like the intense heat and humidity of our summer months!)

    Uber and Lyft are both available from our home. Ideally, we would like workawayers to have their own transportation. I am regularly transporting 4 children to and from activities at least 4 days a week and try not to drive when I don't have to!

    We are a VERY family oriented homestead, and host other full-time RV homeschooling families. My husband, Kevin, and I have four kids ages 3 through 13. The families we host often have children of similar ages or younger. We love welcoming work traders who have experience, and enjoy being around kids and families. Although we are generally fairly relaxed, we ask that no illegal substances are brought or used on the property, cigarette/vape/medical marijuana smoking is done off property, alcohol is used responsibly, cursing is used sparingly, and that you strive to be your best self. The children on the property will look to you as an example - and we desire for (ourselves and) these future generations to be welcoming, loving, kind, helpful, curious, excited, inclusive, enjoy freedom with responsibility, be respectful of oneself, each other, and warriors for the earth.

    Quiet times are 10pm-7am unless otherwise permitted (just ask so we can check with everyone on the property). We have many families who camp on our property and it can be difficult for kids to sleep through loud conversations. Also, we don't want to disturb our hard working neighbors if we want the privilege of continuing to host!

    When inquiring about a stay with us, please let us know what type of accommodations you are looking for (tent, RV, or those provided by us?), your transportation method (will you have your own or require us to pick you up), how many hours you are looking to work (10 in exchange for accommodation only, or 25 for accommodation + food) *** we aren't offering food at the moment***, and the dates you are wanting to stay.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a deck close to the wifi connection and an electrical outlet for charging.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accommodate workawayers car or van camping and tent camping right now.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Pretty much all animal companions are welcome. Please keep dogs leashed unless permitted otherwise (we have a gated field, they can run around supervised). Please, please, please clean up after your pet. It is NOT fun cleaning up dog poop off our children or our own bare feet.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    10 hours a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (4.7)

Communication: (4.3)






N° de référence hôte : 535479294327