1 / 5
mis à jour  

Besoin d'aide dans ma nouvelle maison entre mer et forêt, Northland, Nouvelle-Zélande

  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Enregistré comme favori 255 fois
  • Activité récente: 29 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Greetings from Onerahi, Whangarei.

    I'm Mike and I am restoring the native vegetation of a small valley, and will be building paths, finishing off my recently erected house and establishing a vegetable garden/orchard through 2024. Lots to do!

    Billy, a young dog, shares my home and loves new company as well. Despite being largely composed of mini schnauzer and poodle genes, he also has some form of long-haired heritage, so may not be the ideal companion for anyone with an allergy to dogs.

    I will provide further photos soon.

    I'm vegetarian, but retain a love of seafood. I have no objection to omnivores if you want to bring a bit of meat into your diet. I like to think that I am quite a flexible, laid back and - usually - quiet person, but have lots of energy for my little project.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am happy to share the Kiwi way of life with you, take you out on the boat and go fishing, hiking or biking with you (provided I can fit it into my timetable). I can lend you a bike, snorkeling gear, a kayak, soft surfboard and other gear you might need.

    I've got a reasonable knowledge of the surrounding natural world and am happy to share that.

    Your involvement may bring you some new skills in things that you haven't done before (or if you are an expert, I may well learn from you). Like most things in life, there's lots to be gained for those that put in the energy and are open to new experiences. This area has a wealth of natural beauty that is easily accessible.

  • Aide


    Depending on your skills and what you feel comfortable with, tasks might include:
    • Gardening weeding and planting and broadscale restoration planting
    . Propagating native plants for future planting
    • Forest weed and pest control in the bush: killing weeds by digging out or poisoning them (using safety equipment and with careful instructions)
    • Work on the boat
    • Building: possible minor carpentry work on house, small buildings, boardwalks and other little structures.

    I will provide good directions and suitable safety equipment where needed. I'm very happy to answer any questions, so don't hesitate to ask.

    The work can be physical, so you need to be comfortable with putting in some effort outdoors.
    It would be useful if you had your own working clothes and boots, but if not, I should be able to find you something suitable.

    A minimum stay of a week would be preferred. After that, you'll be welcome to stay for longer if it has worked well for us both.

    Standard Workaway.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    A largely complete 2 bedroom, solid timber house erected during the middle part of 2023. As of late 2023 it still needs to have the bathroom and kitchen finished, floor coverings etc, so not a "perfect" new house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Whangarei is a very relaxed town with a lot of small events going on, especially if you're interested in art and the outdoors. There are beautiful beaches in the vicinity, a lot of great walks around the area and some spectacular views. If you're looking for a vibrant nightlife, Whangarei is probably not a perfect place to be, but we have quite a few smaller things going on, like exhibitions, music events in the evening, choirs, markets and so on. There are a good range of shops offering almost anything that one could wish for.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have unlimited fibre

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have a reasonably generous forecourt to the house and can provide power via an extension or caravan lead.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

N° de référence hôte : 482835315678

Feedback (16)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Help with our veg garden and more Central Auckland, New Zealand
Help our vegan family with household tasks in Dunedin, New Zealand