Pedro & Bárbara

  • Portugal
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estamos

    en casa

    Nuestro próximo destino:

    Denmark - Desde Jul 2022 Hasta Dic 2023
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    BÁRBARA
    Hello!
    My name is Bárbara, I’m from Aveiro (Portugal), I’m an agronomist passionate about agriculture and nature.
    The experiences that I have had since I was a child, the interaction with forest, field and plants have given me the need to be more in contact with nature and to respect it. Furthermore, experiences like scouts, hiking and sports made me active, dynamic and a person who seeks to increase her knowledge.
    During my degree in Biotechnology, I had the opportunity to take part in different subjects, such as scientific research, theatre, botany, folk music, among others. All this allowed me to become more meticulous, communicative and resilient, this contributed to my decision and strive to study agronomic engineering. After acquiring the master's degree in the field of agronomy, I felt the need for practical work, interacting with different crops and areas of agriculture, in order to obtain more empirical knowledge and to understand which areas appeals more to me. I worked with crops such as pistachio, pomegranate, olive trees, blueberry, strawberry, walnut and, currently, vegetables, particularly organic seed production.
    All these experiences, through good and bad times, allowed me to learn more about agriculture, its impacts and biological interactions, about personal development and professional skills, such as interpersonal relationships, rigor, responsibility, critical thinking, mental health, among others.
    Hiking is one of my favorite hobbies and I value organic vegetable production.
    I continue to look for news experiences around the world, where I can grow, be happy and deepen my knowledge.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    PEDRO
    Hi! My name is Pedro, I´m from a small city in the northeast part of Portugal.

    In the past I´ve finished my studies in agriculture engineer then worked and lived in a pomegranate farm for 1year in south Portugal as part of my professional internship.
    [2018] After that I drove across Europe to spend the summer working in Denmark (gardening and delivering newspapers) and in Sweden on a campsite (preparing and serving breakfast, working as an assistant cook and bartending).
    [2019] I had my first workaway experience, travelled to Germany where I worked in a Bed&Breakfast, after that went to Ireland where I worked on a dairy farm and stayed with an Irish family in the rural area, went to England and worked in strawberry farm which had a coffee place. Between December and January worked on a restaurant and minimarket on the Italian Alpes.
    [2020] I went back to the Ireland dairy farm where I stayed for a few weeks before the Covid situation made me change my plans and come back to Portugal to be close to family where I've worked on a farm with sheep and dogs. In September I went to work in Iceland on a dairy farm.
    Mid-October started working in the UK as a personal assistant/carer.
    [2021-2022] Continued my work as a personal assistant/carer in Newcastle to supervise a new team and work as a co-ordinator for the same person while he is studying at University.

    Although I have studied agriculture I find that I have more interest and skills in tourism/hospitality, gastronomy, organize and managing, cultural events planning, fields that require attention to small details and customer service.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Baile
    Senderismo
    Agricultura
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Mascotas
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Películas y televisión
    Música
    Tecnología
    Cocina y alimentación
    Política / justicia social
    Cultura
    Autodesarrollo
    Eventos y sociedad
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Nos interesa:  

    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Jardinería
    Vida en una granja
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    BÁRBARA
    During the master, and after, I worked with different cultures and agricultural areas:
    -I was responsible for Blueberry reception and packaging (Trás-os-Montes, Portugal)
    - I participated in the picking, pruning and vegetative propagation in the pomegranate farm (Alentejo, Portugal);
    -I worked in the olive oil extraction in the traditional press and in the pruning of olive and almond trees (Trás-os-Montes, Portugal);
    -I collaborated in the strawberry, raspberry and cherry picking (England);
    - I was the manager of the Portuguese market in a company of precision agriculture sensors (Catalunya, Spain);
    - I was the manager of a walnuts farm (Beira Baixa, Portugal);
    - I was manager of base seed production in an organic seeds farm: Development of the base seed production plan, supervision and participation in the related field activities. Furthermore, I was doing the visual plan production in QGIS software for the production team, the management of pest and disease in tunnels and greenhouse and helping Scientific’s projects (Beira Baixa, Portugal).

    Extra activities and voluntary work:
    - Member of Scouts in Aveiro, Portugal (1998-2012);
    - Member of GrETUA (Experimental theater group of the University of Aveiro, 2012-2014) - Participation in three theater performances;
    - Collaboration with Herbarium of University of Aveiro (2013-2015) – Support in photography exhibition, elaboration of herbarium samples and vegetal garden and greenhouse construction (“Green Hour” in Childhood Center Art and Quality in Aveiro);
    - Volunteering in Andanças Festival (Folk music Festival, Nisa, 2013-2015) – Ticket office and reception work;
    - Ice Cream Shop and Cacou caffe - Aveiro;
    - Decathlon of Aveiro and Decathlon express of Vila Real (sports shop).

    Courses:
    - Course “Organic production for agronomists” (AJAP Lisbon, 2022);
    - Course “Initial Pedagogical Training of Trainers” (RPB consultants Fundão, 2021);
    - Course “Soil, climate and plants in agricultural production” (CNA Coimbra, 2021);
    - Course “Leadership and team motivation” (CMCD Idanha-a-Nova, 2020);
    - Olive oil tasting initiation course (UTAD Vila Real, 2019);
    - General course of Pistachio production and pruning course of Pistachio tree (Agricultural Center El Chaparrillo, Spain, 2017).

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    PEDRO
    - Tasks related to accommodation (reception, customer care, cleaning, etc.)
    - Animal/Pet care
    - Cooking
    - Basic DIY
    - Computer skills
    - First aid course


    Professional experiences:

    • Blueberry farm | harvest team manager | Portugal
    • Pomegranate farm | live and work for a year | Portugal
    • Camping site + Delivery company | Gardener and Mailman | Denmark
    • Camping site | Breakfast, Assistant cook, maintenance | Sweden
    • Bed and Breakfast | Breakfast and general duties | Germany
    • Dairy farm | Ireland
    • Strawberry farm | UK
    • Assistant cook and general dutis on restaurant | Italy
    • Sheep and dog farm | Portugal
    •Dairy farm | Iceland
    •Personal assistant/Co-ordinator of a young person with cerebral palsy | UK

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido

  • Edad

    29 & 30

  • Algo más...

    We travelling with our dog Simão, he is house trained, very calm and friendly. He accompanies us in travels, sometimes work and he's used to different environments. Staying a day home alone or being tied outside with a long rope are solutions he is used to.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      No, We are happy with any dietary

Comentarios


Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios