Dana

  • Canadá
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    Yukon, Canada - Desde Ago 2021 Hasta Nov 2022
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    My name is Dana. I’m 37 years old and come from a small town on the Canadian prairies. After working in retail for more than 10 years I decided that I wanted to leave my home town and experience more of the world. I backpacked through Southeast Asia and India for more than 15 months, learning about different cultures, meeting interesting people, and eating amazing food.

    My next trip was to Spain for 10 months. I spent a couple of months doing language classes, a couple months travelling, and about six months doing a workaway at a donkey rescue. It was my first workaway, and proved to be an amazing experience. I had never worked on a farm before and went in knowing nothing about donkeys, so I learned a lot about farm life. And it turns out that donkeys are amazing creatures! During the covid lockdown, we had a great team and we worked really well together. I also did a short, one week workaway, where they were turning an old house into a hostel.

    Now that covid has slowed international travel down, I have decided that I need to see more of my own country, especially the northern territories. I would like to help out at a lodge or b&b, to gain some experience in the hospitality and tourism industry.

    I love animals and when I’m at home, I volunteer at the local animal shelter. I’ve also volunteered at a dog rescue in northern Thailand where I worked with disable dogs. I have experience in customer service. I enjoy the outdoors and being active, so I’m not afraid to get my hands dirty or sweat a little (or a lot).

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Compañía para ancianos
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Hostelería/turismo

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Vida en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    After working in retail for many years I have good customer service skills as well as basic admin skills.
    I volunteer with an animal shelter at home, and have spent time working with disabled dogs at an animal rescue in Thailand. I have also worked with donkeys at a rescue farm.
    I enjoy being active and am able to do physical labour. I've helped build a deck, painted interior and exterior walls, and performed the many duties of a farm (mucked out stables, hauled branches, cleared stinging nettles, stacked wood, all types of cleaning, etc)
    I like learning new skills and am a quick learner

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Edad

    38

  • Algo más...

    I enjoy hiking, biking, kayaking, yoga, playing sports and learning new ones (on my trip to Asia I tried rock climbing, caving and became a certified scuba diver). I am interested in learning about the tourism/hospitality industry, as well as sustainable living practices.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios


Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios