Stay with us in Almeria and help with our permaculture project, Spain

Country

España

55 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/01/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    971

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our vision is to turn this little piece of the Spanish desert green and develop a fruit forest and healthy living retreat.

    Our names are Roy and Sharon, we are from Liverpool in England and we have recently moved over to Spain to try and live a much slower pace of life and try and connect with nature. I'm 46 and Sharon my wife is 44, we love to eat healthy food, socialise and let our hair down.

    We live in a beautiful part of the Spanish countryside in the region of Almeria, our farm is situated in a valley surrounded by mountains 30 minutes from the coast and the seaside village of Mojacar. The area because of its natural beauty has been used by film makers to make blockbusters such as, The Good The Bad and The Ugly, A Fist Full of Dollars, Indiana Jones, Laurence of Arabia and most recently Exodus Gods and Kings. The area is very tranquil, very good for your spirit and if you want to connect with nature this is an idyllic place and could be an excellent healthy living retreat comprising of sustainable permaculture farming, Yoga, meditation and local bars for partying in white washed villages all in one place.

    This is a relatively new permaculture project with a new built farm house, we've formed Swales on the land to help to capture the rain water for feeding the fruit trees that are to be planted on the banks of the swales. We would like to build a central communal area with a sleeping under the stars experience on raised platforms for accommodation. There is near to no light pollution and on most nights the Milky Way can be seen very clearly because its that dark but you can be amazed just how much light the moon gives off in this environment to see around you.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    They would learn how to farm using permaculture principles that use only natural methods for watering, this is sustainable, very low maintenance and achievable even in desert climates. They could teach Yoga if they would like to take one of the classes or meditation and practice their English or Spanish.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Farming on a permaculture project, planting trees and vegetables, possibly building platforms and developing an outside sleeping area out of timber.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The sleeping under the stars accommodation is to be built, tents would have to be used for now until there are enough platforms to sleep on, once the experience has been built there would be clear domes to sleep in with a mattress, ( glamping ).
    Until the sleeping area is built I would provide tents but not sleeping bags, you would need to bring your own sleeping bag.
    There will be three meals a day that will also be provided by ourselves.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Walking distance there are two bars, one run by an English couple and they serve food and cold very cold drinks ;-) The other bar is run by a Spanish gentleman and it is a traditional Spanish country bar. There are local bars in the nearby villages that serve tapas for approximately 2 euros and this comes with a drink that are only a few minutes in a car away. 30 minutes away there is a costal tourist area called Mojacar, this is a white washed village and is very pretty, it has lots and lots of bars and restaurants, Mojacar also has a beach and commercial centre for all of your modern needs. There is public transport ( Bus & Taxis ) in the area of Mojacar. Local airports are Almeria, this is 45 minutes from our farm, alternative airports are Murcia 1.5 hours away and Alicante 2.5 hours away.

    Around the farm there are other Spanish working farms with their families living their, you will probably be woken by either the sound of a cockerel, farm dogs barking in the valley or the goat herder walking his goats, they have a bell on their collar and this is a much nicer way to wake up than the dogs barking but its all very nice either way.

    There are a few videos on You Tube and Facebook if you would like to pop by and have a look on either of those at the project so far.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

A surprise dip to cool off.
On days off, down the beach if you like.
A spot of olive tree pruning.
Time for a break
Not a bad place to work.
Our morning coffee, when plans are made ;-)
The sunset is amazing but then when you see the night sky, then you know what amazing looks like. #eyecandy
The Sunrise, great cool part of the day.
Número de referencia de anfitrión: 999356368643