Come and help me restore two old log houses in Lumparland, Finland

  • Finlandia
  • 16 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 12 dic 2022



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Subsistence Old Farmhouse Lifestyle, currently need help rescuing 2 old log houses dating 300 years back
    Hi there, i live a unique lifestyle in the Åland countryside. I see value in resources and act accordingly. I grow some of my own food, process all my firewood, pretty much most of everything else i find in dumpsters containers junkyards.
    The log house i live in was built during the russian period in 1878, next to it i have an old baking log house, where in March 1809 the famous swedish general von döbeln slept in the attic chamber for one night when trying to negotiate for a peace agreement with the russian troops and admiralty stationed in and around Klemetsby. unsuccessfully, and so right at my place Finland's and Åland's days as part of the swedish kingdom ended, never to return into that fold.
    My whole lifestyle is one of resource mindfulness, swimming expeditions and other micro adventures, actually it is hard to tell where work ends and fun starts, it's all one.
    the freezers are full, and in the fall potatoes need to be harvested and stowed away for winter use in a traditional earthen cellar. the greenhouse provides tomatos, and the plum trees are as usual, loaded with small mirabelle like plums ranging in colar from yellow,to red and blue, applles grow here to and a every year one day will be designated to be the apple picking day to produce enough juice for the yearly use.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I speak German English Swedish(Norwegian), in that order fluently, born and grown up in Germany, having lived in Alaska, Sweden, Norway, Hawaii, Canada, grown up for 6 years in Nigeria/West Afrika. So i love languages and will probe yours, playing with words, will try that on you, doing my very own ongoing comparative studies. Would love to learn some Russian, so if you can help with that....
    I am the sourdough waffle will learn how to make and eat vast quantities of sourdough waffles. but it's ok if you are a carnivore or a breatharian and won t have any of it

  • Ayuda


    There are two houses i urgently (as of writing 24.8.2022) need help with removing from their current locations, bringing them over here giving them an extension on their long life, brick chimneys need to come down stone by stone and the one house from 1921 needs to be prepared for lifting away by crane and truck. the other building is already down and the logs need to be stacked and sorted for their future use as materials for the repair of the aforementioned historic building on the property and another portion will be used to build a new smaller log house on an old stone cellar foundation. It would be good if you have a heart for old wooden handmade houses, and know your left from ur right hand and don't mind hard physical tasks, also if you are kind of self going. I hate to assume being a boss although i guess i have to be at least in some ways. I like to extend my freedom of waking up when I naturally do also to you, without the use of alarms or other torturous tricks, and then deciding the course of the day according to most urgent needs and weather conditions. No running water here in the house, so buckets with someone running them is the closest to that most of the year. Summertime has running water in the yard and the comfortable summer kitchen outdoors. So besides the help i am hoping to get from someone who loves saving old houses, or learn hands on in reverse order how they were built, i also repair electronic devices such as freezers, washers and what not also collected either already dead but many of them fully working. To say the least the potential for you learning some quite practical useful often improvisational things are very elevated here.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante
    Norwegian nynorsk: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Love it! Word games, compartive studies and connections between languages

  • Alojamiento


    I have a 12m long 1985 Canadian (s)C(h)OOL bus parked in the yard, that i converted to a wooden cottage(interior), complete with a wood stove, gas kitchen stove, solar system that even provides power to some of the summer kitchens functions. there is a comfortable huge bed in there, it's in a sunny spot, everybody just loves it when they stay here.
    There's a cast iron bath tub that can be fired up for nice baths, other than that there s a shower stall where you can take a hot bucket shower, rounded off by the nearly maintenance free outhouse in the backyard.
    Food we will go get together in nightly raids to Mariehamn. I am no longer vegetarian, although mostly i really am, have been wondering though for too long now if i should try the carnivore diet at least for a limited time. Lots of nice eco meat is available from the dumpsters in town, so f you are into it.....To bad for my potatoes in that case

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I have kayaks and bikes, and will take you to some of my favorite swimming cliffs and beaches around Åland and in this area in particular, there is a small shop with most everything, in the village 500 m away. Although you won t really need to go there much, we'll pick up our free food at nightly raids to to the capitals of the archipelago.
    Also there is a bus connection from bus stops as close as 200 m to the capital Mariehamn. where there is a libray and museums and shops of every kind

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    You would need your own internet connection though. i only have internet via my mobile phone, that i tether to my Laptop via USB. i try to avoid making a hotspot for longer periods, so as to avoid having Cell phone and wifi radiation on top of it continously. But i can make a hotspot for you for short periods

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Principally possible, but might get a bit tricky with a lot of the available space needed for logistics regarding the move of massive amounts of logs from the buldings coming here

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, of course feel free to do as the host, the project never sleeps, and you'll learn more

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 997553786592


Help with our two kids and drive them to school in Salo, Finland
*Small cabine tasks close to wild nature, lake, and forest in Inari, Finland