Renovate little apartment, painting etc. Torrox/Nerja, Andalucia, Spain



282 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Dutch Couple, sailed around the world in our small sailing yacht from 2009-2012. Lived on our Spanish farm, including a rental apartment from 2015-2019. Sold everything, now ready to help others.
    Since 4 years we have known and used Workaway only as Hosts at our own house in the countryside in Spain. That has always been a great experience. We had a small B&B at the house. We have sold that house now. Next year we want to buy a boat and sail around the world again. Now we want to travel to Central america/South America and Indonesia this year to do voluntary work.
    We have been together for 16 years. We have 1 dog and 2 chickens at the moment, but we will not bring them with us on our travels :) . We don't have children, by choice.
    We are both from Holland but we have lived/worked in many countries (Australia, N.Z., French Polynesia, South Africa, Thailand, Spain) and on our sailing-boat for 3 years, sailing half the globe, mostly visiting tropical islands. Next year we want to buy a sailing boat again, and from then we want to use our boat to help with an organisation, bringing materials and researchers to remote places that can only be reached with a shallow sailing boat.
    We have been living in the South of Spain since 4 years. Here we did renovations, running an B&B, teaching yoga and working as real estate agent. Before this we lived in Thailand, working on a sailing boat with tourists. Before Thailand we lived on our boat for 3 years.
    As a Dutch ecological watermanager, a sailor and medical biologist, I like work that is water related or close to the water. I will tell a little bit about myself. At the moment I am 41 years old. I am and have always been very adventurous and curious to learn new things, both about the outside world, (traveling), as the inside world, how the brain/mind works. Maybe I can describe myself as an explorar/researcher and life is my favourite subject that I am researching :). Both in Thailand and in Spain I did 4 times a 10 day silent Vipassana meditation course that I really like and I learned a lot from that.
    I get very enthusiastic about nature, animals and the working of the human mind/body. I like to help people who are suffering or in pain or unhappy. Or people who just need help.
    I love really all kinds of animals, small and big, (as long as they don't hurt me).
    Before the boat (2009-2012) I was in the Dutch Olympic team from 2004 until 2008. At the moment I teach yoga and meditation (and English). I like kite-surfing, snorkling, free diving, spear fishing (I only fish the amount I can eat). hiking, singing, doing nothing, practice consciousness.
    We both meditate every day and we try to stay conscious as much as possible.
    I love to live in remote places and be as self sufficient as possible.
    In DIY jobs I tend to be the more perfectionist worker.
    Originally I am educated and worked as a lawyer and manager of a law-department from an insurance company. During our sailing trip around the world, I found out that Amsterdam is not the center of the world :) and that I didn´t want to go back to the office life. We have done many other things and jobs since, like starting a French Fries business, rent out an nature-apartment, etc, and momentarily I am working as a Real Estate agent for a Swedish Company. I start to love nature more and more and I am embracing mindfulness. I like sports as sailing and kitesurfing and recently I got addicted to Padel (a Spanish type of Tennis). I have learned a lot from our sailing trip around the world, and having a finca in Spain; Everybody is capable of doing almost everything, if you have the time and patience to learn. Character wise I am the more carpe diem and happy go lucky type. I do think, but not to profound or deep. I am happy, positive and open minded in general. The downside is that I am not really a perfectionist, I am quickly satisfied with the result. I like being around people and sharing stories and experiences. I feel happy and at ease around all sorts of people, be it bankers, farmers, astronauts or biologists. I am really looking forward to our new adventure.
    We do have many reviews as hosts. Please find the 11 reviews (all very positive :) ) at our host-page: Jelle Roos.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Mantenimiento general
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Flora is a mindfulness teacher. Specializing in Mindfulness for chronic pain. We both practice Vipassana and other Mindfulness/Consciousness types of meditation (and concentration exercises). We have sailed around half the world, if you are interested we can tell you about it. If we have a bit of energy left after a week of hard work on the renovation we like to go hiking in the mountains in the weekend. Jelle loves to play Padel (Andalucian tennis type sport)
    We also try to practice Mindful renovation work. This mostly means we try not to be in a hurry or think about the result, but be in the present moment during the work. :)

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    -Yoga teacher (Yin Yoga, Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga, Mindful Yoga for Chronic pains, conscious stretching and relaxing)
    -Meditation guide (Vipassana, Mindfulness, Concentration, Awareness, Relaxation, Acceptance)
    -Sailor: I have been a profesional Olympic sailor in the Dutch Olympic sailing team. Also I sailed around half the world on my own small sailing boat together with Jelle. I can repair small diesel engines, small outboard engines, simple 12 V electricity, clean/fillet a big fish or chicken. Also lot of experience with Fiberglass, Epoxy, Sikaflex, etc.
    -I have the Rescue Diver licence with the First Aid licence.
    -I used to be a descent free-diver, but I am out of practice. Hopefully it will come back.
    -I like to take photos under water. I have patience with taking photos of animals.
    (I don't have a lot of patience with computers, but I can practice my patience)
    -I speak English, Spanish, French, German and Dutch and I teach English to refugees her in Spain.
    -From the Olympic sailing I learned both many mental and physical exercises.
    -I can cut your hair.
    -From renovating a few houses I learned, cementing, repairing walls, building kitchens, simple electric work. painting, woodwork. etc.
    - Having had and maintain our own boat and finca, I can do general work and maintenance on most common DIY-jobs. We also renovated a small apartment here in Spain, doing most of the electricity and plumbing ourselves.
    - I do speak English, German, French, Dutch and Spanish.
    - Quite fluent with computers and administration, can built websites, but no coding or similar.
    - I am quite fit, so can handle manual labour.
    - I have a quick understanding for complex rules and regulations, taxes etc.
    - Pool cleaning and maintenance
    - Work with wood, epoxy, but also bricks, cement, rendering, electrics, plumbing, etc.
    - I like cooking (and hunting for my food, for example spearfishing or setting traps to catch crabs)
    - I can cut hair, but remember I am not the prefectionist type :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We both speak Dutch, English, Spanish, French, German and a tiny bit of Thai. We always like to improve all of our languages and I (Flora) have experience with teaching both Dutch and English.

  • Alojamiento


    We would like to host 2 people traveling together, who can sleep in a double bed together.
    You will sleep in the apartment that we are renovating for 5 days a week, depending if that is possible with the work we are doing there.
    The apartment is in Nerja. It does not yet have internet or a kitchen. :)
    We live in Torrox in a little cabin. The two places are 17 minutes apart by car.
    (We have two cars, but Jelle is using one for work mon-, tue- and wednesday).
    You can stay with us in the cabin two nights a week, where we have internet and a kitchen.
    Both places have 2 bedrooms (and sea views :)).
    We will provide vegetarian breakfast, lunch and dinner. We do not provide alcohol or snacks.

    Our cabin has a garden where our dog (Sam) and 2 chickens (Broma and Chucky) live. The apartment only has a balcony,
    3 times a day one of us has to walk the dog.
    Our dog runs away often and our chickens just started laying eggs again, yeeaah.
    We only have wifi in the cabin at the moment, not in the apartment that we work on during the day.
    In the cabin we don't have a big boiler, just enough for 2 showers in a row, so we will have to share or wait for the water to heat up again. (or take a shower in the apartment)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    From both our places (apartment in Nerja and Cabin in Torrox) you can walk to the village to go to a bar or restaurant. Also if you like hiking you can do that everywhere you like.
    If our cars are not available there are buses to go to the beach or anywhere else.
    Sometimes we plant trees in the national park or walk dogs from a shelter. Or make a bonfire in our garden.
    On Monday morning you can enter the famous Nerja caves for free. We sometimes like to go to Flamenco music.
    We prefer to have workers for a period of around 2 weeks.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Normally 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 992729824885