Help at our small farm and enjoy hiking or skiing, in Hardanger close to Bergen, Norway

Country

Noruega

actualizado  

404 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    19  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 20 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *** UPDATE August 2022 ***
    We need workawayers for September and October
    ***

    We, Olav and Rebecca (both 41), run Heljetunet (pronounced Hel-yeh-too-neh), a
    small farm in Hardanger, Norway. We also get some help from Olav’s parents (Kirstin
    and Helge), especially when Olav is away at sea. Olav’s shift pattern is two weeks
    away and then two weeks at home on the farm. Olav’s two eldest sons also help out
    on some weekends. We are a big family with four children so far: Bork (14), Mirren
    (11), Eirik Olai (10), Linden (6) plus two twin girls on the way (due in time for the
    apple harvest 2022!). Olav is Norwegian and Rebecca is British. Rebecca’s role on
    the farm is to first and foremost take care of the children, but she also assists with
    light farmwork and running things whilst Olav is away.

    We raise sheep and grow three varieties of organic apples on the farm. The farm is
    situated with a view of the Hardangerfjord and Folgefonna glacier to the south, and
    often snow-capped mountains to the north. The farm is quite central in Øystese: a
    small town popular with tourists. A 10 minute walk takes you right into the centre
    where there are shops, a beach, restaurants and a swimming pool plus other
    amenities. It takes an hour and a half to get from Øystese to Bergen in the west by
    bus, and the same amount of time to Voss in the east. The surrounding mountains
    are ideal for skiing and hiking.

    We grow our apples organically and our sheep are almost exclusively grass-fed,
    grazing on the high mountain pastures during the summer months. Our vision for the
    farm includes improving and building the soil using regenerative techniques such as
    biochar, cover crops, composting and holistic grazing management. We keep the use
    of pesticides, herbicides and synthetic fertilizers to a bare minimum that complies
    with organic standards. Producing excellent, sustainable food, fibre and fuel whilst
    maintaining and improving biodiversity are important values to us. We produce high
    quality apple juice, apples and sheepskins, and are self-sufficient in lamb and mutton. We want to create a kitchen garden to be self-sufficient in vegetables.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Hardanger is Norway’s number one fruit-growing region, and a stay at our farm is a
    chance to learn more about modern fruit-growing as well as regenerative
    agriculture. Olav is a qualified orchard gardener and lifelong farmer. Heljetunet farm has been in his family since 1791. Rebecca is an ecologist and English and science teacher. She also has
    significant experience with permaculture and vegetable growing, having previously
    established and run Norway’s second permaculture LAND site, Seversgarden.

    The surrounding mountain areas are perfect for hikes, and for skiing in the winter.
    Øystese has an art museum and exhibition centre. There are sometimes concerts
    and music festivals there too. We might have time show you around, but we are
    mostly busy working both on and off the farm. Alternatively, we will happily
    recommend places for you to go and will send you a little guide by email if you come
    and stay with us.

    We do like travelling, but right now the better option is letting the world come to us.
    We look forward to sharing our Norwegian (farming) culture with you, and also to
    learn things about you and your culture.

    If you enjoy reading, we have heaps of books on subjects like self-sufficiency,
    gardening, farming and food preservation. Or sci-fi, if that's your cup of tea.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The apple orchards are fairly new (planted in 2018 and 2019) and need care
    throughout the growing season. Tasks such as mowing, strimming around the trees
    and fertilizing are common tasks. In the winter we prune the trees.

    Feeding the sheep morning and evening is the most important task during the
    winter. Lambing is in April, and we really need extra helping hands for that. From
    May until October the sheep are out on the pastures. In May and then Sept-Oct time
    they graze outdoors on pastures close to home; June through August they are up in
    the mountains. This winter we will most likely do some work on the interior of the
    sheep barn, and will need some help with that.

    Winter activity on our farm includes forest tasks; clearing pastures and cutting and
    chopping wood. It would be great if you have experience using a chainsaw and
    driving a tractor, but not a necessity. Instructions and training will be given on all
    tasks.

    We are also building a production room for juice and cider. If would be great if you
    have skills as a carpenter or plumber, but general handiness and a good work ethic
    goes a long way.

    You will be expected to work five hours a day five days a week.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have different options for accommodating you. The decision on where you stay,
    however, will be ours!

    Option 1
    A self-contained and recently refurbished cellar apartment with kitchen, brand new
    bathroom (with underfloor heating, toilet, shower, sink, washing machine), living and
    dining area and two bedrooms. Good WiFi and internet cable connection.

    Option 2
    Garage loft with one separate bedroom. There is a living room with a sofa and a
    desk, and two spare beds. Small fridge and possibilities for light cooking. There is no
    water installed in the garage loft. Toilet and shower is in the basement of the main
    farmhouse (separate to the self-contained cellar apartment). Good WiFi and internet
    cable connection, and also a TV screen.

    Option 3
    Mountain cabin about 4 km away from the farm. Situated by Lake Fitjadalsvatnet.
    Only practical if you have a car or some other means of transportation. 3 big beds
    there. Tap water and WC but no shower, so you need to go to the farm for that and
    laundry. Gas stove for cooking and wood stove for heating. No electricity, no wifi.

    Food and meals
    You will mostly make your own food in the kitchen of the self-contained cellar
    apartment of the farmhouse. This is regularly stocked with groceries, so it’s super
    important you let us know of any particular dietary requirements! We also have food
    stores in the cellar of the house which you will have access to; consisting of a cool
    larder, freezers and refrigerators. These are stocked with basic supplies and dry
    goods. Some days we will all eat together, particularly during the summer months
    when we can eat outdoors. We try to regularly eat lunch with you when Olav is at
    home. We provide you with necessary groceries, but please also try to make meals
    based on what you can find in the food store.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We primarily look for couples and co-travellers because Olav works at sea in addition
    to the farm, so you will often be alone on the farm with some supervision and help
    from Rebecca and Olav’s parents. Access to a car could be a possibility if you have a
    driver’s license of course.

    We prefer longer workaway stays (at least three weeks, but preferably longer)
    because Olav is at sea for two weeks at a time, but also to allow you to settle in to
    the work routines and discover the local area.

    Your working hours might not always be fixed. Sometimes your help will be most
    needed in the evenings and weekends.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Good wifi available.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Room for an rv.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.8)





















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 992232142749