Organic herb farm near Villaviciosa, spain

  • España
  • 374 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 23 may 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Hi there! I have an organic herb farm. I bought the place ( a house, cuadra, panera and 1.5 hectares of land) in 2019. The goal is to produce herbal infusions, herbal products like oils, salts and vinegars and herbs for restaurants and veggies and fruit for ourselves. Maybe someday I will have a little pop up restaurant on my terrace, with food from the garden.

    I hope to organize my packaging, labels and logos this winter to properly start marketing my products in 2023. 2023 will be the year! It means 2023 will be totally about harvesting, drying, mixing and selling. Very exiting! I also work online to make some money to support this wonderful way of life. So I won't always be able to join you in the garden, though it is where I want to be.

    Most days are about plant care, weeding, pruning, watering, mowing, transplanting, harvesting, etc. Also the animals need TLC. I have a lovely and smart dog that gets bored and loves walk: 2 cats that hunt mice, but mostly sleep: chickens that eat bugs and generally mess up everything I do and sheep to help me keep the grass down. There is also lots of wildlife around. Aside from the birds, birds of prey and wild boar and deer, I have also seen martens and badgers and recently had a fox in the hen house. Less funny.

    Aside from the gardening and animal stuff there are bigger projects to do. These mainly are about the house, like plaster boarding, painting, tiling and such. But also maybe things like building a sheep shed or wood shed.

    You are most welcome to come and stay with me and share my life and my dreams for a while. I would also love to hear about your dreams, ideas and experiences. I did a lot of volunteerwork in France and Spain the last couple years and I loved the experience.

    I am a Dutch woman, I used to be a cook, business consultant and manager (not all at the same time). If you want to bring a dog, he or she is welcome, provided it can get along with my growing menagerie (there is a cordoned off part of the garden, around the house).

    Well, I hope that gives you an idea! Please contact me with any questions and I hope to see you soon!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    First of all you get to experience Asturias and (if I do say so myself) one of the most beautiful parts of Asturias at that! Second, life in a rural Asturian village.
    Furthermore you can learn about and contribute to gardening, landscaping and construction work, improving soil, permaculture, herbs, fruit trees, forestry, construction work, etc.

    And last but not least we can help each other with languages and learning about different cultures and habits. And you can meet my neighbors and friends, who have different nationalities.

  • Ayuda


    We will work around 5 days, 4 hours a day or vice versa. This depends on the weather, how tough the work is and our energy levels.

    There is a lot of gardening work. Making paths, preparing beds, weeding, mowing, sowing, planting, watering, etc. And of course the never boring magic of watching things grow!

    For length of visit I prefer a stay of about 7/10 to 20 days. Any longer can be discussed once you have been here a few days.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    I have a panera/horreo (barn on feet) where I have placed 3 tentrooms for volunteers, with good matresses and duvets. I myself stay in the house, which is becoming more and more a real house, but is a work in progress. It has a bathroom, kitchen, living room and parts have electricity. There is no heating yet, but I hope to install this in the coming weeks as....winter is coming!

    I have spent the whole of last summer living in the Panera with my volunteers and it’s very much like camping or maybe even glamping.

    We'll be eating lots of veggies, but also some meat and fish and dairy. Organic as much as possible, but that is mostly a budgetary question for now. Please let me know if you have dietary needs.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Time off is yours to do with as you please. You can sleep, lay in the sun, read, go for walks (if you take my dog he will love you) or join me and my dog on our walks. You don't mind silence or spending time by yourself. I also like to go to the beach or mountains and your're welcome to tag along!

    If you have a car, that is great, as it gives you more freedom (to go to the coast, visit the Picos, Oviedo or Gijon), but if you are travelling by public transport I can pick you up in Villaviciosa. I'll go into town at least once a week and you can join to do some shopping if you want.

    I have limited wifi as i use my phone as a hotspot. And its quality depends on the weather and where you are on my land. I hope to install Wifi soon as I need it for work.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 days, 4 hours a day

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 989333132344

Comentarios (5)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)