1 / 4

Looking for help with some outdoor projects on Denny Island, BC, Canada

  • Canadá
  • 76 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 18/01/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are on Denny Island, population appx. 100, in Heiltsuk Nation territory, the heart of the Great Bear Rainforest on Canada's wild west coast. You will have your own waterfront cabin, all the peace and quiet you can ask for, and opportunities to explore. We are creatively self-employed carpenters and whale researchers with a delightful 11-year-old. Please note: it is a long way and not cheap to get here from most other places. You can fly from Vancouver on Pacific Coastal Airlines, or ferry from Port Hardy, Prince Rupert, Bella Coola on a 6-12 hour BC Ferries trip, which may mean a night's stay in the port of departure on both ends. Plans may change on short-notice due to local Covid restrictions. Thank you!!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Denny Island is a wonderful community where everyone knows each other. You can easily walk to the local marina, where you'll find friendly people, a store and other amenities. In winter it is QUIET here, except for the storms! We are generally pretty quiet, progressive, environmentally-friendly hardworking people and we have a lot of skills and experience to share. We love to get out on the water, spend time at the beach, work on our place, pick wild berries and garden. We beachcomb and chainsaw mill a lot of our own lumber. We live a largely boat-based lifestyle that is quite unique due to our remote location. We can teach you about raised bed and container gardening, roofcatch water collection, unconventional building, and coastal temperate rainforest ecology, and we have a well equipped workshop.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for one or two people with a strong back and a good work ethic, preferably familiar with the use of shovel, wheelbarrow, pick, and axe, to help finish off a small landscaping project in our yard and greenhouse early this spring (Feb-April). Help may also be needed in building a roof structure for a large deck and with splitting and moving firewood. We have a waterfront acre with house and two cabins. We can host Workawayers for 2-3 weeks, depending on the dates.

    Workaways must be happy to work in the rain at times because we live in the rainforest, but we try to do undercover jobs when it is pouring. Also must be comfortable travelling by small boat. Our place is best suited to independent people with some experience behind them who seek a quiet place with beautiful surroundings to explore - not much for nightlife here except owls and wolves!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a comfortable self-contained bachelor cabin with double bunkbed, bathroom, shower, and kitchen. We will eat some meals together but for most we will cover your groceries and you can cook on your own. Workawayers must be accustomed to cooking and cleaning for themselves.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    All of the volunteers we've had in the past have loved it here! We have kayaks, a bike, archery equipment, trampoline, books.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 239262455799

Fotos

Comentarios