Stay at a traditional farmstead and help us plaster our dream house with clay near Tallinn, Estonia

Country

Estonia

48 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Silver and Ester - a couple with a 3.5 year-old daughterand a year-old son. We live in a typical Estonian farmstead, sharing the space with parents, grandparents, few more members of the family and friends who come to help/visit.

    Our place is a lush "island" surrounded by lots of nature, fields and forests. We have plenty of space, big garden, fruit trees, berry bushes, flowers, chickens and a cat. There's an old traditional farmhouse (built in 1892), summer kitchen/guest house, sauna, outdoor yoga studio, and a few more buildings. It's a special piece of land, shared between 4 generations. The whole family is contributing their work/ideas/projects so that we could all enjoy this place as it is today.

    We are currently building our dream house at the plot just next door. It's quite an ambitious project and sometimes feels more like a life project rather than a house that will get finished one day. But we've come a long way, and it will get finished! We do all the work ourselves, using already existing materials, stuff we rescue from demolishions, logs from our woods, reeds (type of a straw), clay and anyting really that we can get our hands on :) It's an adventure!

    We go dumpster-diving regularly and a lot of what we eat comes from behind the supermarkets. Most of the time there is also some food from our gardens. We get organic milk products from a lovely nearby farm and order whole-grain organic grains and flours from a mill in the south of estonia.

    PS! We have an agreement with the rest of the family, that we only accept visitors/volunteers from monday-friday. We want to respect the privacy of everyone, so weekends at the farm are for our own family only. So, you are welcome to stay for a couple of weeks or more, but we kindly ask you to spend your saturdays and sundays elsewhere. Usually our volunteers stay and work from monday-friday and then leave friday evening or saturday morning to discover some other areas of the country and return sunday evening or monday morning.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The farmstead is, in a way, a glimpse into the past. The whole house is designed and built in a way to support the rythm of the 4 seasons, harvesting, processing grains and sustaining a family.

    We love our sauna, which is and has always been an irreplaceable element of our culture. It's especially nice to introduce the real sauna experience to foreigners, who might not be so faimiliar with it. Sometimes they even say that they're not into it. Guess how many rounds in there it takes, for them to reconsider their opinion?

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Currently we need help with plastering our walls with clay . It's quite simple, fast to learn and pleasing job. There's also other jobs at the building site, depending on what's going on, but plastering is the bulkiest job at the moment.
    This summer we will also be building/installing all the piping, adobe(clay) floor, wooden floor, radiant floor and wall heating, masonry wall, chimney etc. We do not have all the skills to do all these jobs ourselves, therefore, if you have any experience or competence in any of these fields, then you are extremely welcome to join us and lend a hand or/and your brains.

    We really appreaciate if you can contribute with cooking and cleaning, but it's not a must.

    Any ammount of time that you decide to spend with the little ones is highly appreciated.

    There's always stuff to do in the gardens, like prepping beds, weeding, harvesting and turning the harvest into something.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    Estonian: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We've got a couple of options, depending on availability and your preference. We have a guest bedroom on the second floor of the summer kitchen. We have a 2-people tent, pitced on the second floor of the main house. There's a huge palace-tent set up at Acropolis (that's the outside yoga studio), that can sleep at least 4 people). There's also an old log-cottage, that can sleep up to 4 people. Few more suitable corners for sleeping here and there....

    We provide 3 meals (or ingredients for meals) a day. We eat mostly vegetarian, with some meat here and there. Eggs from our chickens, milk products from a nearby organic farm. Whole grain products from organic growers. We can easily accommodate vegan/vegetarian diets.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    It is quite easy to reach us. The place is just a 40-minute drive from Tallinn. There are frequent trains from Tallinn to our closest town, Kohila (7km from us). There is a river nearby, where you can dip in. There's a picturesque bog nearby(good berrypicking!) with a beautiful lake that is good for swimming too.

    We are quite hard-working, but it's not so bad, because it's work we enjoy doing. So, expect to be rather busy here, though you are always welcome to take your own space and just enjoy being in the nature. We go to bed quite early (around 10-11) and wake up at different times.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours/day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 988198723348