Experience living in the beautiful Valles Pasiegos and help us with gardening and construction in Spain

Country

España

75 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/05/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We're a young couple living in a beautiful rural area in the North of Spain, los Valles Pasiegos. We own a little cottage with two acres of land, and have been living here since March 2017. Joan is originally from Barcelona, while Anna is from Belgium. Although the cottage is fully renovated with modern amenities, there's still a lot to do around here. We're looking for anyone who could give us a hand turning this house into a home. When it comes to gardening, we're pretty much newbies and have no idea what we're doing!

    We're currently constructing a treehouse, a wooden dome which is on a seperate plot of land about half a mile from the main house. We're looking for volunteers in March or April, who can help out with light construction work and gardening. Couples are more than welcome, we have a 14 month old baby so an occasional hand with cooking or child rearing is also appreciated.

    We have a very friendly German shepherd called Millie, she's 3 years old and part of the family, meaning she sleeps in the house. Our neighbors hacve cattle, so don't be surprised if you open the door in the morning and there are 6 donkeys staring at you!

    We speak English, Catalan, Spanish, Dutch and a bit of French and German.
    We love hiking, cooking, exploring, and arts and crafts!

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Projecto artístico

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The experience of living in the beautiful Valles pasiegos, where time stands still and people still work the land as they did a 100 years ago. Our neighbors are an elderly couple, who have never left the village, have no tv, and fill their days with farming, making baskets from the hazelnut tree etc.
    We're close to Liérganes, which is one of the most beautiful villages in Spain, and about 45 minutes from the capital of Cantabria, Santander.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    What we are looking for at the moment are people to helf out with gardening and farming, and people with renovation experience or allround handyman to improve the cottage.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    Catalan, Spanish, Dutch, English, French

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a spare bedroom with a double bed, the bathroom is shared.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is little or no public transport, but it's a gorgeous two hour hike to Lierganes. People normally like to walk down, and then Anna can pick you up after work so you don't have to hike back up! We can arrange for pick-up or drop off in Santande, also we take regular trips into the surrounding villages.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 977534895742