Help us manage our woodland and other projects in Dordogne, France



55 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    We also need help to make bonfires, cut down invasive trees, chainsaw firewood, and double the size of our allotment.....and after lunch maybe a few other projects we have been dreaming up!!
    We are looking to make a real difference to our place this winter and we need a few helping hands to get us there!

    We have an area of woodland that has never been managed to promote its health and diversity. We don't know where to start with this so would really value expertise in this area to help us make a plan.

    There is a small river running through our property which is currently lined with invasive trees that are blocking the light from the entire area. We have identified approximately 50 trees that we plan to cut down this winter to re-balance the river bank. Can you help with this?

    We also have a meadow that is waterlogged and currently unusable. We would like to use a permaculture approach to manage the water in this area so that we can create a growing area on the higher ground if possible.

    There is a large barn with a wooden mezzanine that is full of junk. We are hoping to clear the barn and convert the mezzanine to an area where our children can play in the winter when the weather is bad.

    Our property is a rural watermill, however we are less than 300m from the village with its bar/restaurant and Boulangerie and 15 minutes by car (35mins by bike) from the local market town with it bars, restaurants and Wednesday Farmers Market.

    If you love wildlife there is so much for you to see here.... We use a wildlife camera to capture regular visitors to our property including Deer, Wild Boar, Genet (wild cat), Badgers, Foxes, Kingfishers, Pine-martins, Birds of Prey, Owls.

    It's an advantage to have a vehicle here as there is no public transport and there is plenty to head off and see. If you enjoy cycling bring you bike!

    We have one 2 bed gite available for volunteers with lounge/kitchen/bathroom/ wood-burner and a truly stunning view from the patio.

    We are Rob & Sarah, a British couple who have both traveled and lived abroad and now have two young kids born here in France. Their french is already better than ours so if you were looking to brush up on your french you would have two excellent teachers.
    We are a family who love to travel. Our first significant trip was in January 2020 around Southern India by train and bus..... It was our children's first traveling adventure....Grandma came too as she had previously lived in Nepal and enjoys an adventure as much as we do! However, the world has since changed, and our plan to explore Central America will need to wait a while. So now we plan to use a 30+ year old camper van to travel when and where we can through Europe. Having workaway volunteers to stay from different countries is another way we can bring experiences of the world to us!
    Our village is in a typical rural farming area....but it is just 45-50 minutes by car to three major cities so there is great access to cultural opportunities.

    In line with Regional and National laws / policies all our local Bars, Restaurants, Indoor Recreational Facilities require a valid Covid Pass.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are based in the Perigord Vert National Park and ours is a traditional french farming community where the village is run by the Mayor and a committee of community elders.
    Our village has a strong local identity and hosts many events throughout the year.
    Most of our farming friends are Bio/Eco farmers who are always keen to share their skills and experience of working on the land.
    We are the kind of people who are happy to learn from scratch how to do something and have the time to share what we have learned with others.
    There are Kayaking / mountain-biking/road biking opportunities right on our doorstep. If you are into triathlon you will love the challenge of this area. We have local clubs we can introduce you to which will help with your french too!

    We have extended family living nearby who have different hobbies and skill sets you may also have an interest in.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Most of our current projects for 2021 involve working outside and demand a reasonable level of physical fitness. Chainsaw skills / wood work skills / building experience / roofing experience/ gardening or allotment experience would all be an advantage.

    Experience of teaching Tennis, Guitar or Piano to children would be a massive bonus!

    Professional MIG welding experience would also be awesome! ( I am a scrap metal artist and sell my metal birds and horses through local craft shops but would love to develop my structural welding skills so I can build some structures on site)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We have a 2 bedroom gite on our property available for Workawayers, comprising of one ground floor double bedroom and a mezzanine with two single beds, an open-plan kitchen-diner, bathroom with shower and private patio. There is electric heating in the double bedroom and bathroom and a 14kw woodburner in the lounge area so its pretty cosy in the winter. We have a private carpark big enough to accommodate several cars or camper-vans. There is a laundry room with washing machines and a tumble dryer.
    We would offer volunteers lunch and a hot evening meal in our home and can provide a basic breakfast in the gite
    ( mornings are very busy in our house doing the school run so wouldn't want to inflict that on anyone : )
    The gite has a microwave, fridge, gas hob and gas oven for volunteers to use if they wish to.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are bound by Local, Regional and National rules /restrictions around Covid 19/Coronovirus and need to take these into account as responsible hosts when welcoming volunteers to stay with us.
    All Restaurants, Bars and Events require a Covid Pass as proof of vaccination status.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have good internet availability at our home with free WiFi provided in our volunteer accommodation.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a large carpark on site and own a camper-van ourselves. There are also campervan facilities in the centre of the village. There are wild/free camping opportunities nearby and the coast is 2 hours away and just an hour further if you go in search of snow!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a cat that is used to having summer guests with dogs and cats. Its a great area for dogs who like to be outdoors but otherwise stay close by you. Our property is not enclosed so is not the right place for a pet that would wander off. There is a public footpath through our property used daily by dog-walkers and cyclists. This is a farming area so any pet would need to be well behaved in respect to horses / donkeys / goats / cattle and sheep.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 974529476328