Help with projects around my home and enjoy the vibrant culture of western North Carolina, USA

  • Estados Unidos
  • 205 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 22/01/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I've traveled the world as a workaway'er and now have returned home to begin the adventure of hosting!

    I'm fun-loving, adventurous, and I love to create and design spaces.

    I own a cleaning/design company, which is a personal and humanitarian project.

    My home is a beautiful 3-story home on a hillside with panoramic views of the mountains of western North Carolina, a short drive from the most exciting, FUN city in NC, Asheville- better known as "Beer City USA" - which means we have the most craft breweries and brew pubs, per capita of any city in the USA!

    Asheville is best known for its hip "vibe" (so welcoming to people from all over the world), street musicians, foodie-heaven restaurants (most of which use locally-sourced, organic food), hand-crafted cocktails, eclectic rooftop cafes and bars, live music and comedy (year round!), tree houses you can spend the night in, French Broad Chocolate Lounge (and many other wonderful chocolatiers), sweet bakeries and creperies, champagne book shoppes, the trendy river arts district, vintage clothiers, antique stores, La Zoom Comedy Bus, The Pubcycle (a group gets on a 12-person bike, replete with drinks and comedy as they cycle from pub to pub), Biltmore House, America's largest and most amazing palace, breathtaking hikes, zip lining, river rafting/tubing along our beautiful clean rivers, camping (or glamping, for those who love their creature comforts in the woods :)), an all-around FUN-FUN-FUN city!

    Whether you love the hip vibe of velvet dive lounges, with orchid-garnished cocktails, the hidden speak easy, or glittering elegance and fine dining at some of the most coveted hotels and bars around the world, Asheville IS the place to BE!

    OH and did I say LIVE MUSIC, OPERA, DANCE, BIKING, THEATRE! Asheville has it all!

    MY PROJECT: I own a three-story home, situated on a beautiful knoll. We welcome you to bring your hand person skills, your love and positive energy to our space with creative landscaping, painting, organizing, and other general help around the house. If you’re creative and handy, welcome to our world!

    Some experience with general maintenance (appliance repairs, painting, use of woodworking tools, and other home equipment preferred).

    We love gourmet pescatarian and vegetarian dishes, so maybe you can share some unique recipes in our kitchen! And we have many to share with you!

    We love creativity and welcome your personal art fingerprint into our space, so if you have a unique art or craft project to share, we would love to have you!

    WHAT I PROVIDE: You will be provided a private space with a comfortable bed, (bathroom access in the main home a few steps away) with basic toiletries (shampoo and soap), access to laundry, linens, coffee/tea/water and simple breakfast items (oatmeal, yogurt, cereals and fruit), and we will provide some dinners, simple lunch items (like sandwiches and fruit) either with us, or basic pantry items for you to be able to prepare a simple meal for yourself. You will be expected to help with preparation and cleanup at meal time, or anytime you prepare things in the kitchen.

    You are welcome to share ethnic dishes with me! We can cook, drink, play games, and clean up together!

    I am also happy to take you someplace fun each weekend, and you're welcome to tag along, most anywhere I go to experience beautiful western NC! Asheville

    Additionally, I’d love to teach you to make origami, how to write a haiku, and how to make home made pone bread and tarts, and remind you what it’s like to be a kid! We love to have fun!

    WHAT I EXPECT: 4-5 hours of your time, 4-5 days a week (very flexible - lets just set some goals, get finished, then have some FUN!)

    We will be working together and I want to make it a FUN experience, getting to know about you and your world!

    I'd love to learn your language, listen to your music, taste your recipes and discover WHO you are! YOU are the most important part of my experience!

    PLEASE be clean and tidy. :)) SHOWERING is a must. (We love clean!!!)

    PLEASE tidy up after yourself at all times, including kitchen, bath and common areas. If you don't like clean, smile, this might not be a good fit for your experience.

    Be respectful with quiet hours between midnight and 8:00 am.

    PLEASE no illegal drugs on premises.

    Please drink responsibly.

    Outdoor smoking only.

    Indoors, we are a shoe-free, washed hands zone to help ensure the health and safety of all our guests. :)

    NOTE: While I do like to treat workaway'ers, occasionally, on an outing, you will want to have extra spending money for major activities, alcohol purchases, major dining experiences, and other personal expenditures.

    There are many FREE things to do, such as picnics, hiking, biking, and even wine tasting, so we can plan accordingly, as you wish.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I'm a world traveler, writer, and professional (I own my own company) who has lived in Turkey and Korea, and have traveled in 18 different countries. Now that I'm home, I want to host the world!

    I'm a great cook and would love to teach you a few regional dishes - crusty pone biscuit bread with honey or jam, fried squash, pan-seared banana bread with raspberry compote, gourmet burgers with shallots and arugula, goat cheese/apricot crostinis and more!

    I am so excited to live just outside Asheville, NC and would LOVE to take you on some amazing hikes, introduce you to the VERY cool bar and foodie scene, and even take you to some live music experiences. The adventure is BIG! I want to share it with you!

    Most importantly, I want to get to know you, hear your stories, listen to your music, get to know your soul :))
    I believe in love, respect, and honesty. I share all the above and am looking for like-minded workaway'ers who are looking for the same.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Building structural support for new area, framing in and drywalling (or putting shiplap) in the bathroom, creating an outdoor courtyard, staining or flooring the concrete basement, digging, spreading gravel, landscaping, painting, pressure washing exterior of 3-story home, roofing, repairing/replacing damaged drywall ceilings, installing hardwood or tile flooring, and adding your own creative energy to our home (leave a bit of your art, built in - YOUR artistic fingerprint), organizing and packing up unused things in the house and basement, (if you know how to construct cool things, like murphy beds, hanging indoor swing beds, and other neat stuff - that would be awesome). We have a small courtyard and would like to rock the wall there and create a base (gravel, pavers, decking, etc). If you know how to install a ceiling, or finish drywall, that would be awesome!
    We also need to get the basement cleaned out and organized, in preparation for renovations. There is also some opportunity for daily cooking and cleaning upstairs.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante
    Turco: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private/semi-private bed and bath with comfortable, clean bed (nice linens, fluffy towels, basic toiletries), bath and shower
    Your space will be private, unless there are other workaway'ers, no more than four at a time, then space is shared.
    Breakfast foods, drinks and snacks, simple lunch foods, plus some evening dinners - sometimes you will be provided groceries and will need to prepare your own meal. :)
    Complimentary wifi
    Fire pit, tree swings, and winding country roads!
    FUN family adventure or outing (you may help choose!)
    Beautiful mountain home with panoramic views!
    Join us for outings in your free time!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    My home is in Burnsville, North Carolina, about half an hour from Asheville. We will provide transportation to Asheville, or other nearby tourist activities at least once a week, but we are pretty sure you will LOVE everything about where you are!

    I am kind and good, honest, very clean and respectful of all humans and animals. I believe in loving every one and doing to others as I'd have done to me.

    I am spiritual, but not religious, and believe we are all from the same Creator - here to create something beautiful and help others on our journey.

    LOVE is everything! Bring your soul, your gifts, your authentic self!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 968991986862

Comentarios (1)

Fotos

Comentarios


Help us with gardening near Olympia, WA, USA
Non-profit dedicated to the long-term recovery of the historic Lower Ninth Ward of New Orleans, USA