Welcome to our farmhouse and help out near a medieval village, Italy

Country

Italia

48 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My husband and I are both originally from England but now living permanently in Italy with our two very friendly dogs and two cats. We have both been involved with organic and off-grid living for some time learning various organic and self-sufficiency practices and are now starting a new journey here in Italy.

    I managed three independent skill-exchange program locations in the UK, and have also been a guest myself - so I know both sides.

    We have just over one hectare of land that we are gradually transforming into an off-grid paradise. The house and land are situated only 15 minutes drive from Trasimeno di Lago. A large and stunning lake central to Italy and easily accessible by public transport. The house itself is surrounded by a beautiful tiered flower and vegetable garden, olive trees, field and woodland in a peaceful location but within reach of the local village and amenities.

    My husband is a professional artist, and I am a retired graphic designer/florist. So we have an abundant creative background and look forward to sharing our knowledge of all things organic and creative. He is also a water-sports enthusiast and will be happy to take volunteers to the lake for excursions. There are also horseriding and paragliding businesses nearby. Perugia is only 40 minutes by car and has a wealth of things to do. Major cities are easily accessible by train within two to three hours.

    A life of meaning, peace, nature and inspiration is how we have chosen to live, along with sharing our experiences and knowledge to enhance this and future generations.

    We predominantly eat vegetarian meals, and yet once a week we include into our diet a fish or a meat dish. We encourage all our guests to assist in cooking and clean-up.

    We have room for upto three volunteers: one double room and a single room in the house which is a rustic renovated farmhouse. We also have a pool to use in the warmer months.

    We are happy to accommodate volunteers who genuinely want to learn and are prepared to help out. In return we will reward you with comfortable accommodation, delicious and nutritious meals! We would also welcome those with musical, language, photography and videography skills as well as practical ones.

    Please contact us and tell us a little bit about yourself. What skills you can bring and what skills you would like to learn during your stay with us. This is a reciprocal learning experience…as life should always be!

    We look forward to hearing from you for this exciting adventure...

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    My husband and I have a wealth of knowledge with practical skills and creative backgrounds. We both speak fluent English and are learning Italian so we are excited to exchange language skills. I speak a little French too. You will learn about an off-grid and self-sustainable lifestyle along with eco-practices such as permaculture and biodiversity. Also, many practical skills including woodworking, forest maintenance, food conservation, natural product creation, arts & crafts. You will also have the opportunity to explore the area and absorb yourself in a wealth of activities from horse-riding, wine-tasting, cuisine, Italian culture, watersports etc. (cost of excursions not included).

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have a number of projects in mind, from starting a bee colony for honey and beeswax, sowing wildflowers, to establishing our extended vegetable garden, fruit orchard and olive grove using permaculture and biodiversity influences, and integrating natural irrigation and water-filtering systems. Creating the chicken house and run. Installing a biodigester to compost organic waste to create gas. Building a rammed-earth seating area and wood-burning hot-tub, a yoga platform, outdoor composting toilet and solar shower (with permissions), along with the usual maintenance of logwood, coppicing, tree maintenance, planting, harvesting and food conservation etc.

    Guests with experience in carpentry, building, vegetable growing, tree maintenance and animal care is advantageous but equally we are happy for people who are new to this lifestyle and simply want to come to learn and build their knowledge base.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We speak fluent English and are happy to assist with any guests wishing to improve their English. We would welcome anyone who speaks Italian to help us improve. I have weekly online Italian lessons. I speak a little bit of French.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have room for upto three guests. A single room and a double room in the house. We welcome couples, singles, and small groups of friends (no more than three). Type of accommodation is based on a first serve-basis. There is a kitchenette which is accessible to all guests and a communal bathroom which has a bath and shower. Three meals a day will be supplied to all guests at the property (guests pay for their own snacks and alcohol). We are mainly vegetarian but we do include one fish/meat dish per week. We encourage our guests to assist with meals and even cook a traditional dish from their country of origin (ingredients provided, where available).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You are welcome to spend your time off relaxing by the pool, or in the garden. There are many seating areas dotted around if you wish to chat with other guests or if you prefer some solitude, perhaps to read. There are a wealth of activities in the local area, some within walking or cycling distance (bike hire available locally). Otherwise, we can arrange special visits to other places of interest for which a car will be required (donations accepted). There is a large lake within 15 minutes drive, and my husband is happy to take guests to experience some watersports. Many major cities, airports and the beach are accessible by train within two to three hours. There are also local buses and taxis. Guests pay for their own excursions.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have internet access but because we are rural it can be affected by thunderstorms, for example. We also have the ability to hotspot from our phones which have good 4g signal but this is limited to 50GB per month (this would be used for Wifi back-up and emergency use only). There is a dedicated workstation in the livingroom, and we are planning to extend the wifi access to the studio where there will also be a small workstation. We welcome digital nomads and also videographers/photographers.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can provide parking for small-medium campervans only. This is due to the condition of the track to our house, and also a right-hand bend through a small hamlet. Motorhomes, unfortunately, are not able to access the property.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We do have two dogs and two cats, and soon some chickens, all are very friendly. We welcome well-behaved pets, and would also have to have a trial period to see how they get on.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 967896791877