Bring a bit of your world to us, and be part of our family on a northern Orkney island, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

289 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    14  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We do not leave this island very often, so we'll love it if you bring a bit of your world to us... and we'll share life in this small community with you like you would never see as a tourist.
    I'm a single mum with 2 boys (8 and 15).
    There's a public shop inside our house which takes up 60+ hours per week of my time and is open every day of the week. It is basically a mini-supermarket with fresh bread, meat & veg, groceries, housewares, alcohol & tobacco, and a Post Office.
    The children's Dad lives 5 minutes' drive away and helps with childcare and the shop.
    The nearest village is 7 miles away, and often the boys require driving to activities or friends' houses (I do that - you're not expected to drive them).
    We like participating in community events, going for walks and playing outdoors, but it must be stated that the boys are into their computer games big time!
    There are lots of outstanding DIY jobs in the house which I'm trying to tackle as I go along, and the cleaning, washing and other housework are a constant struggle to fit in.
    We are content and positive, but we are definitely not a calm household! We have hosted amazing volunteers in the past who have brought their own flair, and much energy and help, to our little corner of the world.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is a northern Orkney island called Westray.
    You can get here by boat and/or aeroplane - beware, the connections are patchy.
    There are about 600 inhabitants, and the local school has over 70 pupils.
    The community has one pub/restaurant/hotel, a bistro, several church congregations, community events, a second hand shop, 2 more shops in the village selling mainly the same things as we do (and one has a coffee shop), a small swimming pool and gym, 2 galleries, a heritage centre and lots of lovely people (ok, some are not so lovely :-) ). Westray is also the site of ancient civilisation, with the Westray Wife as it's most famous find.
    You can see porpoises, birds (puffins!), occasionally whales, and other wildlife. Our neighbours run private wildlife tours.
    If you wanted to take a few days off to go sightseeing on the other islands, there's plenty to see (a little more difficult in winter).
    There are more beaches, hills and hikes than I can mention, and a lighthouse and cliffs to boot.
    I enjoy going out to the pub and having a drink or two on occasions.
    You could volunteer at charity events or help other families with childcare if you want to make connections.
    We speak only English in the house, although I know German (I'm Austrian born) - very happy to help you practise either language.
    It never gets warmer than 20 degrees Celcius here, but also rarely below zero. Beware the high and constant winds in winter (and often in summer), and you better wear lots of layers, good shoes, scarf and hat.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Since there is a shop on the premises, we can cater for most diets. We are omnivores with some picky eating challenges, but mostly we eat food that's about to go out of date in the shop, as well as stuff that's quick to prepare such as pizzas and oven food. We'd be happy to try new recipes but generally we're in our own little groove. If you have specific dietary needs, please be prepared to cook for yourself, and we certainly welcome help with preparing meals and cleaning up.
    Please note, you should really be able to drive. You cannot go anywhere on this island without a car, and I don't have the time to drive you. I can insure you on my car, or better still, you may have existing UK insurance.
    There's plenty opportunity to make yourself useful... and it's entirely up to your individual talents and preferences. Cleaning, doing the dishes and folding washing is sorely needed on a daily basis and would really help me a lot. I often start tidying projects, decluttering, moving furniture and toys to make more space, and it would be awesome to have someone who can carry on with that while I get called away for shop or kids, just to get a project finished. I have a sewing machine, and a heap of things that need sewing and mending, if you're so inclined. There's paperwork to sort if that's your thing. If you can fix a lock or repair the chairs, or you're happy to help me cut the grass or clear the sewage tank, all the better... you get the drift.
    I'll make sure you get plenty of time off, but you may have to retreat to your room or go out to get peace and quiet, because the house is always noisy and busy. Otherwise you might want to join in with our activities, watch movies, play board or video games, or come out to the pub or a friend's house with me, but only if you want. I do enjoy a beer or glass of wine on weekends, or get a coffee from the bean-to-cup coffee machine in the shop and have a natter.
    There won't be any need for you to get up early, the mornings are usually all covered. While school is on (from mid August onwards) the best time to get any work done is between 10 and 2.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The house is very basic and in need of many repairs.
    The spare room - yours - is downstairs next to the living/dining room. It has a double futon sofa bed, desk and some shelf space for your things, and there are also a few boxes with toys which won't fit anywhere else. I'm currently decluttering it to make it nicer, which might be something you could help me with. There's a private toilet that isn't very modern (fancy sprucing it up?) and in emergencies we might need to use it, and a tool cupboard that I sometimes need access to. Otherwise the space is entirely yours and private, the kids will only be allowed in with your permission, and we'll always ask if we need access. Theres a window that can be opened fully and faces out into the yard. There's a radiator which can be controlled by you for your room only. There has been some damp in the past due to a leaky roof, so the wallpaper shows the damage, and with an old house like ours you never know where it next drips in - however, it seems that for now the leak is fixed and we'll always do our best to fix any problems you might have with the room.
    The adjacent lounge also serves as the dining room with attached kitchen, and it has the only TV in the house - it's a small but busy room. Due to the very thick wall between lounge and spare room, there's not much noise filtering through, but there may be some. The bathroom downstairs has a bath tub, separate shower, toilet and wash basin, and it has decent heating and very good hot water.
    Upstairs are two bedrooms and a small room the boys use for computer gaming.
    Outside the house is the shop car park, some shed space, and there's a private garden at the back which has awesome views, a bit of a playground, and garden furniture. The house stands directly above a stunning rock beach which is perfect for walks, wildlife watching, and crabbing.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In theory, we can host couples, or very small families. There is little space though, so it must be understood that guests need to do their best to fit in with our rhythm of life... happy to discuss!
    Please be aware that travel to this island will probably be more expensive than you expect, and rather complicated to book. I can help with details. Please do not apply before you have looked at the travel - writing back takes a lot of time, and time is in short supply...!
    The boys have been very welcoming and flexible towards our volunteers in the past, they're happy to let you join in with their computer games or show you around, and we have appreciated all our helpers over the years. You'll be welcome in our house and valued for what you can do to help us, and the stories and ideas you bring with you. There will be no stop watch to measure your work, and we are respectful of privacy and free time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have 2 sources of WiFi in our house, both unlimited. Due to our location and the weather, either of the connections can suffer at one time or another, but generally you can do most online things including video calls and gaming. There is a desk in the guest room, and enough quiet time for working.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a shop car park where you can park your motorhome. We might be able to work out getting you connected to electricity, and you could use the house for waste and water (or even just use the bathroom).

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20 hours a week - very flexible

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 962919339963