Join our happy family and help us to fix up an old homestead in Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

488 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    20  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    68.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 8 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Aloha! We are Matt and Noelle with baby boy Micah (18 months) and three daughters age ,9,7,4. Matt grew up in the Philippines so felt at home when he moved to big island. Noelle was born and raised on Kauai, got her degree in California and travelled abroad, living in Italy 6 months, Switzerland, new Zealand 6 months and other places) before moving to the big island. We have a family bakery cafe business in town ( inspired by living in Europe with fresh organic sourdough, croissants cafe...), but we are not asking for work at our business, rather an exchange on the home front. :)

    We are a homeschooling family with a dog,,2 goats and guinea pigs. Our girls are super sweet and just wonderful (no bias!) And baby Micah brings us so much joy! We love to be in nature, practice martial arts ,(Kung Fu, jiu jitsu), read good living literature, sing, dance, cook, eat healing living food, enjoy community and cuddle our baby Micah!

    We have very much enjoyed hosting people from around the world in the past and look forward to welcoming you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We think it would be nice to plan a group dinner together once a week. We go into hilo often, two or three times a week for jiu jitsu from 2-6 and your welcome to catch rides (2 people)
    If time allows and you ask me, we can show you sourdough baking as well as other natural fermenting like kim Chee. Practical herbalism and knowledge of local Hawaiian plants. Experience the blessing of joyful children (who sometimes bicker) and funny kid conversation. We are musical and sing and play guitar.
    We are very busy and value our individual family space, but will be happy to help you in everyway we can!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are busy building our family business (bakery cafe) and more importantly, investing in and raising our four children. We are not available to be tour guides everyday (as our lives are very full) but we hope be good hosts while you enjoy our island and look forward to getting to know you and share life together during your stay.

    Included is basic whole food and a private separate one bedroom apartment that is at our old house five minutes drive or 1.6 miles away from where we live in Pahoa town. This is on a beautiful peaceful property with fruit trees like avocados, mountain apples, lilikoi, soursop, perennial greens that grow well in Hawaii and more.. there is another apartment on the property that shares the same wall and a lovely family of four live there and would share the yard space .
    The apartment has a small bedroom with a custom-built double bunk bed (4 twins), a small bathroom with tub and shower and small kitchen with full fridge, induction cooktop, toaster oven and simple kitchen tools. We would love to share dinner together one night a week. On days when there is work to do at our Pahoa house we can pick you up and drop you off if that is necessary. The location would be ideal for someone who either is happy to have a peaceful home environment and not go out alot or who is planning on having transportation or who doesn't mind walking half an hour to downtown Pahoa, at times in the tropical warm rain!
    There will be food available in the kitchen for you to eat and cook for yourself. Specifically, organic eggs, organic sourdough bread from our bakery, butter,jelly, organic peanut butter, bean,rice, some veggies, some fruit, salt, pepper, local honey, coffee and tea. Of course you can also buy other food items you may need. Our location very close to old pahoa downtown: 1.6 miles, 10 min drive from the coast cliffs (note, not water access). Hilo (bigger) town with several good ocean swimming areas is 30 min away. Ideal experience for someone interested in exploring hawaii (note: consider renting a car) while having a home to do so from!

    Update: immediately we are looking for travelers who do not need to quarantine who are already in Hawaii. Some days it would be great to also help with house work and possible help with expanding our garden beds, permaculture food forest landscaping , composting, help with animal care including milking a goat, cleaning house, meal prep, various household tasks.


    Experience the beautiful hawaiian green jungle (note: rainy, but warm) in our Puna district of Hawaii, close to the newest lava flow on earth!

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    1bedroom Apartment with shared yard (house split into two apartments)

    Or
    Your own bedroom in apartment below us Sharing the kitchen, bath, living space with a mom and 8 year old son who lives in other room.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our house is on a peaceful street near pahoa town with a spacious yard in the ohia forest jungle. Very serene and private back yard - think tropical rain. The apartment and our house is about a ten min drive to the coastal mini beach at uncle Roberts (they have a wonderful wed night market with amazing music and great food and local made products). 15 minutes to Stunning black sand beach (clothing optional). 20 min drive to the newest lava beach on Earth (!!!!) and geothermal pond. Our house where we have recently moved is a few minutes walk(less than 5) from downtown pahoa that had a health food store, shops, kava kombucha bar, organic sourdough bakery, live music dinners, Thai, Hawaiian, italian and more.
    Hilo is 30min. Kona 2 hours. Volcano town 1hour.
    Hitch hiking is common here, but obviously unpredictable way to travel, and there is a bus that picks up close and goes around island, but does not come frequently and requires walking to places of interest. If you don't have a car you may want to rent one for weekend travels around the island. There are so many things to see! Volcano national park, Kona beach camping, Mauna kea, old time cowboy country of waimea, South point. We may have a spare tent to lend you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20 hours a week

View from back porch of house we are moving to when done fixing
Mama and Micah camping in kona
Our middle daughter
Our new house yard
Oldest and youngest
Last family picture at pohoiki before this surf spot was covered by lava
Construction on the fixer upper adding a room
Traveling to visit family this summer

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 958495456476