Help with at our sustainable farm in Montague, MA, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

244 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    24  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    15/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    94.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi lovers of the outdoors, of good food, or sustainable food growing! We are looking for some enthusiastic folks who love to work outdoors together. "We" are Babette and Mark.

    If you want to be part of starting up a permaculture farm - come and help us! Our 36-acre farm - half woods and half fields - is in beautiful Montague, Massachusetts, 2 hours from Boston, and 3 hours from New York City.

    We do fun projects like: raise chickens on kitchen compost, worms and leaves from the neighborhood; run the waterfall on our pond with solar; try out scything; build a straw bale studio; raise sheep; grow a whole field of berries with odd names (aronia anyone?). We are also serious about trying to make a real business out of a regenerative farm using permaculture principles.

    In 2022, we have room for workawayers to stay in our new farm food forest in Montague. We have two small studios with a shared bathroom with compost toilet. We also have a house in Needham, a suburb of Boston (Mark still works in Needham), where you can also stay a few days as part of your time with us on the farm.

    This is a great opportunity to be a part of building a regenerative farm from the ground up!

    CoVid-19 update. Mark and Babette are both vaccinated and require any workawayers to have completed their full round of vaccine doses at least two weeks before arrival. Let’s keep everyone in the community safe and healthy!

    SPECIAL WINTER STAY: We are looking for a workaway (single or couple) who can stay at the farm three months from Dec-Feb. Your main responsibilities will be to manage the lovely sheep and chickens, and to deliver eggs to our neighbours (nearby). You will have plenty of space to call your own, as we will mostly not be there. This is a great opportunity for an artist or writer or anyone who is looking for a quiet retreat, or for someone who wants to get to know the area better to relocate here!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We promise you will learn a lot about implementing permaculture in a temperate climate setting. This is an opportunity to learn about setting up a new permaculture garden and farm - all the work that goes into the early stages!

    We do all our cooking from scratch with mostly local ingredients; we minimize our trash by reducing and recycling; our house run on solar for heating, lighting, car charging etc. plus other carbon-reducing features, so this is also an opportunity to learn about green building and retrofitting.

    Also, if you are not from the United States, you will learn about the American culture with us - and if you are shy about English, we speak German, French, Dutch and if necessary a smattering of Spanish.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would like to ask you to help a total of 20 hours per week; spread over 2-4 days, and this could include some days of animal chores (one to two hours).

    We'll be working together - with Babette or, with one of the other work-aways or interns. In 2022, our projects at the farm include: daily care of the growing chicken flock; rotating our sheep through the pastures; building a trellises for berries; planting companion plants (a polyculture) around our nut trees and berry bushes; building a small studio out of timber frame, straw, natural plaster, and a sod roof. We also appreciate support keeping our social media presence lively and engaging.


    .

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The accommodations will be your very own a garden house, or a roomy tent during the warm season. There is one shared bathroom (shower with hot water and composting toilet).

    Visitors can also stay with us for a few days in our house near Boston as a part of their farm-stay with us. In this case, you will have a large, sunny room in our house in Needham (near Boston) on the third floor with your own bathroom.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Mark and I like to have people around, and we've always enjoyed visitors or the people who stayed and worked with us in the past two years. We don't expect help cleaning up our junk, but we do expect everyone to clean up after themselves, and to help clean up when we've eaten together.

    At the farm, we have bikes for guests and people frequently use these to explore the area. Nearby are the lovely Bookmill (well-known and loved second hand bookstore) and the Lady Killigrew cafe; the towns of Greenfield and Turners Falls are a bike ride away, and the area offers lots of quiet roads and forest for biking or hiking. We also have a swimming hole nearby. If you have a car, you will find lots of great hiking and camping in the area, as well as the lovely towns of Amherst, Northampton, and more.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Yes we have wifi.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is lots of flat space where a campervan could be stationed for a limited time.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a very friendly dog, and if you have one friendly dog, they would probably get along! However, we do request only a well-behaved, not barky, and small to medium size dog. Unfortunately, our dog thinks cats are great to chase so your cat would not be happy with us.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    20 hours per week spread over 2-4 days

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)

















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 438897827781