Sustainable farm living close to the mountains in Mörsil, Sweden

Country

Suecia

307 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/07/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    As a family with four kids age 3 to 10 living on a small eco farm in the mountainous area of Jamtland, we need more grownups on the farm to manage. Our family also includes three working dogs and four cats. We aim to be as self-sufficient as possible. We hold sheep for wool and meet, and ducks for eggs. We grow fruits, berries and vegetables in our garden. We hunt for moose, mushrooms and wild berries in the woods. We cultivate the fields for animal feed.

    We also have horses, and are running a Welsh breeding program/Welsh stud here at the farm. We have a Welsh cob filly, three Welsh pony mares, two Welsh pony filly, two Welsh mountain mares, a welsh pony colt, a welsh mountain colt , a welsh partbred/Swedish riding pony colt and a thoroughbred mare.

    We welcome volunteers to help out with the great variety of chores present in our daily life. The most important chores are animal care, horse training, child-care (although all kids spend their day at school/preschool), daily maintenance, gardening and occasionally painting and smaller construction. In exchange we offer knowledge in the self sufficient lifestyle, sheep farming, growing vegetables, no-dig gardening, gardening in cold climates, wool and yarn spinning, Swedish culture and language. We speak Swedish (native), English, French (Hanna) and German (Jörgen).

    The dogs are two moose-hunting dogs and one sheep dog. The breed of sheep we keep is a new Swedish breed, called Jamtland Sheep (jämtlandsfår), which has been obtained through crossing with merino. We have 8 ewes and expect about 15 lambs in end of March. We have 4 ducks of the breed Magpie duck.

    We are Hanna and Jorgen, professionally working as researchers and teachers at the university. Work, running a farm and having young kids is a great but also heavy load, and Hanna is now recovering from burnout syndrome. In addition to this, our four kids are very active. If you, as a volunteer, is interested in social work and differences in personalities and the complexity of the human mind and development, it is, thus, a big plus. This is a place where you could really make a change and a great contribution.

    We are friendly and social, but also have a need for privacy sometimes. Hence, we offer our guests their private accommodation, but are happy to have you share our kitchen and living areas and will enjoy to have meals together.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We offer knowledge in the self-sufficient sustainable lifestyle, organic farming, sheep farming, growing vegetables (in cold climates), wildlife and foods to be found in the wild, wool and the making of yarn and woollen textiles, horse care, handling and breeding, Swedish culture, cooking and language.

    If you are interested in learning traditional handcrafts I’d be happy to share my passion about spinning, knitting, weaving, embroidery or even traditional tanning of leather or fur. Or, we could learn some together, for example weaving baskets of salix.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The most important chores are animal care, horse training, child-care (although all kids spend their day at school/preschool), daily maintenance, gardening and occasionally painting and smaller construction.

    Work varying depending on season.

    The animal care involves daily routine such as feeding, watering, and cleaning the free range stables. In summer it involves fencing and moving animals to new pastures. It involves grooming of horses and sheep shearing. Lambing season is in March-May (normally spanning 6 weeks and vary a bit in time from year to year) and is one of our most labour intensive periods.

    Horse training is all from handling, taking a horse for a walk at hand, to ground work in the paddock, to riding. All our horses are young and early in their training, so it depends on the visitors level what training will be suitable.

    Our kids spend their day at school/preschool, but doing meaningful things with them after school or in weekends is an appreciated chore here. Doing horse activity with a child is high on the priority list right now as they need a grownup by their side to be able to develop together with their ponies. Picking up the younger kids at preschool can be a chore.

    Daily maintenance in the house is always needed. Cooking can be a chore. We normally share dinner responsibilities among the grownups, but if a visitor take more dinners than his/her part it will count as work.

    Gardening can involve watering, weeding, seeding, planting, and harvesting. We work a lot with no-dig and covering the soil with decomposing material.

    Occasionally we have some buildings needing paint or smaller construction work. We use sustainable paint and materials to great extent.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Swedish: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have two possible housing alternatives. One is a private summer cabin by the lake (the yellow house in the background of the campfire photo), with electricity but without running water, but with access to shower and toilet in the farmhouse (there is a privy by the cabin). This alternative is only accessible during summer, as the house is not isolated for winter. The second alternative is a year around alternative, a suite with shower and toilet in the basement of the second house on the farm, where grandpa lives upstairs. Kitchen will be shared in the main farmhouse where we live. We enjoy cooking, and we will cook together or take turns to prepare the meals, which we preferably enjoy together.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This mountain area is famous for skiing, both downhill and cross-country, mountain biking and hiking. The nature is wild and generous and easily accessible. Public transportation stops 400 m from the farm.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have lots of space for a campervan/motor home. It would be possible to connect electricity and to use water hose to fill water tank.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.0)

Comunicación: (4.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 957441426244