Help at our rural home in NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

159 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    10/11/2022

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Geoff and Simone Kirk

    We are a "retired" couple who divide our residence between two rural properties that we own. One is on the mid north coast of New South Wales. The other property is situated in the Snowy Mountains, in New South Wales. In both locations we welcome Workawayers to help us for a few hours each day to do property maintenance and other farm chores we are finding it harder to do ourselves.

    In Summer, we require help on our rural homestead (horses to feed, fences to check, seeds to plant, meals to cook, the list goes on). We are located on the banks of Wallis Lake (with a private jetty, a great place for sailing, water skiing, and fishing) and nearby are some stunning surfing beaches.

    Winter finds us on our 45 hectare (100 acre) property in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains where we have the same help needs as in our (warmer) northern location. We have a large modern house on the property. We open it to our family and friends and, to make ends meet, welcome bed and breakfast guests for snow-sports lovers in winter. We host and cater for any such paying guests ourselves, and handle the breakfasts and housekeeping chores with occasional local paid assistance.

    Workaway volunteers are not involved in any way with paying guests (except for being polite and hospitable to them!)

    We ourselves have a large family and many friends who particularly in winter love to ski and board in the Snowys. So with a house full with them and some paying guests we have our hands full!

    Workaway volunteers will have lots of time in Summer, to enjoy nearby surfing beaches and sailing or fishing on Wallis Lake's placid waters, or, in Winter, cool down in the Snowy Mountain high country with time-out for snow skiing or boarding.

    As to location, in Summer, we are located approximately 3.5 hours drive from Sydney northward up the Pacific Highway, near the coastal towns of Forster and Taree.

    In Winter, we are located 5.5 hours drive south of Sydney, 2.5 hours drive south of Canberra and 10 minute drive from Jindabyne. The Aussie Alpine snowfields are located 30 minutes drive from us to Thredbo and 35 minutes to Perisher Valley. Alternatively we are only 12 minutes drive to catch a unique underground train ("Skitube") that gets you up to the ski slopes of Perisher in just 12 minutes.

    So for eager (and work-motivated!) overseas volunteers, there will be plenty of time for experiencing a rural Australian life-style, as well as recreational skiing (snow and water), snowboarding, sailing, surfing, fishing, or just experiencing rural life in NSW down-under.

    This is an opportunity to experience Australia in a very different way.

    Smokers and drug takers are not for here, but a Drivers Licence is preferable.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The Aussie way of life in the Snowy Mountains in Winter, or our beautiful coastal beaches and waterways in Summer . Exchange experiences with locals and have the company of our large family and many friends. Eat typical Aussie cuisine with us and enjoy Snow and WaterSports.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for someone who can help with house work, gardening, shopping, cooking and generally giving us a hand with farm maintenance.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We live in a lovely house with plenty of room. In Winter, you will have your own bedroom with bathroom, and sink. Large kitchen is available. Food is plentiful. In Summer, you will occupy our self-contained lakeside cabin.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have lots of experience with young people and families.

    We are keen skiers and anyone is welcome to join us on the slopes. Jindabyne is buzzing in Winter with lots of people visiting the town.

    Plenty of time for skiing and snowboarding or just experiencing the Snowy Mountains (NSW) in Winter or our coastal beaches and waterways in Summer.

    We expect people to respect our property and be tidy and clean, no drugs, or smokers and alcohol in moderation. You will be part of our circle of family and friends.

    Canberra our capital city is only 2 1/2hr drive away with lots to see.

    Buses run from Jindabyne to Canberra. There is an International airport in Canberra and a small regional airport in Cooma (40 minutes drive time, with shuttle bus service to Jindabyne).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 949967189931