1 / 5

Come and help me with general maintenance and gardening in a rural Corbières Maritimes, South of France

  • Francia
  • 12 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 10 nov 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Born and brought up in the UK, I have lived most of my 63 years in France (with a 9 year period in NZ). In 2006 I converted an old winemaking barn into my home. This is my second eco construction (having previoulsy built an eco-lodge in NZ). I'm passionate about the environment and our local flora and fauna. My activities include being a professional translator, and have set up a non-profit organisation to promote nature tourism in this area of the Corbières Maritimes.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am happy to help travellers with anything they want to know about French or British culture and traveling through France. As a B&B host, I can point travellers to all the great things to do in the area (Cathar castles, new Roman antiquities museum in Narbonne, Palace of the Kings of Mallorca in Perpignan, etc.).

  • Ayuda


    The property is not very old and in good condition - but there is always maintenance work to do. Much of the work to be done is general maintenance (sanding and oiling wooden worksurfaces, sanding and painting shutters, cleaning the wooden deck, etc.). There is also a bit of gardening. Rough pruning my pocket handkerchief of vines might also be helpful!
    Ideally I would like to host a couple (or two friends) with previous experience of general maintenance/renovation/repair work and - and really only need help for 1- 2 weeks in Jan-Feb. Work hours/days can be flexible and work time grouped together to allow you whole days off to go exploring (e.g. whole day on then whole day off or two days on then two days off - rather than half days - but it's up to you!).
    I enjoy meeting people of different nationalities and I look forward to hearing from you. I have had help of this kind before and can provide references. I would expect references from workawayers too!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    This is an eco-friendly barn conversion constructed with mostly natural materials and has solar hot water and a heat pump with underfloor heating as well as a wood burner. Your accommodation will be in the comfortable ground floor guest bedrooms (1 double & 1 twin) and you will have your own bathroom. Meals and cooking are shared although I will provide all the ingredients, which are local/organic or both. There is a spacious lounge, a good selection of books and free wifi but I'm afraid I do NOT have a TV! However, we can always discuss how to put the world to rights over a glass of wine in the evenings - which is much better than TV anyway! I need my beauty sleep so would expect workawayers to be quiet after 10:30 - 11pm.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This is a very unspoilt area with fabulous walking and birdwatching.
    Our tiny village has no public transport, shops or any commerce of any kind, so your own transport is a bonus...

    I'm afraid I will have limited time to take you sight seeing but I can tell you a lot about the surrounding area, where to go and what there is to see and do if you have your own transport. My house is located exactly half way between Narbonne and Perpignan and there is so much to explore including Cathar castles, cistercian abbeys, lots of lovely old villages and towns, walk on the beach (too cold to swim in Feb!), cycle along the canal.
    I have two bicycles that you can use but be aware it is quite hilly around here!
    Great windsurfing and kitesurfing in Leucate!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Recently installed fibre :-) with a connection of approx. 90Mbps up and down. One of the bedrooms could be easily turned into a workspace.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    You can park your campervan / motorhome on my drive :-) - but you are welcome to stay in the house while you are here!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Am happy to have a well behaved dog to stay!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 947898191933

Comentarios (1)