Come and help us around our b&b and get insights of Mysore, India

  • India
  • 114 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 17 oct 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas



  • Descripción


    We share our home with guests from India and abroad at our Bed and Breakfast and provide MYcycle guided cycle tours. Mysore is a wonderful city. We love our life here and meeting the rich mix of international guests from all sorts of backgrounds that come to share our home. It’s just ten minutes from the Palace at the centre and a short distance from gorgeous countryside. We now want to invite workawayers to also share our home. We are Stephen from the U.K. and our dog Lucie, Manjula who jointly founded the Bed and Breakfast unfortunately died and in line with her wishes and those of hundreds of guests who have become our extended family we continue to share our home. It’s a celebration and will change but still reflect Manjula’s creation as an open house that connects with people around the world.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We hope to provide the opportunity to gain insights into India and life in and around Mysore. It’s an open house with guests from around the world. The experience and skills gained will depend on your interests but might also include developing a business, Local history, understanding more about India (ha ha) and relating to different people. A room is provided, breakfast every day and evening meals on some nights of the week. There are cycles for you to be able to use. Manjula’s assistant (me) from the UK can help you get to know the area really well and There are often wide reaching political and philosophical conversations! You’ll definitely have a laugh and fun! In another life I’m a consultant and trainer with experience in a wide range of organisations from charities to international corporations. We guarantee to talk about any subject under the sun including religion and politics. .also available: cycles to use, join me or more guided cycle tours, trips in Ambassador, maybe scooter to use.

  • Ayuda


    We’ve just reached the end of our main season so it’s really quiet at mysore BnB. We’re looking for one or maybe two people (couple or friends) to help out for a few hours each day for 3-4 weeks. The role will vary but depending upon your skills, aptitude and interests may involve cleaning, help around the house and running the place, watering and caring for our plants on sun terrace, dog walking, welcoming and helping guests. It might extend to leading cycle tours or decorating. Anything’s possible. We created a project specifically for Willian (he’s from Brazil!) aka Spicy Bill. He was our very first workawayer. He stripped the cycles we use for our tours, we’ve then had them repainted, he then rebuilt and helped maintain them. On his last day he immersed our Ganesh in the holy river as part of an annual ceremony. Once he made initial contact we designed a project that responded to his interests and skills, that’s how we like to work. We’re flexible and up for a workawayer to suggest new things. Our more recent workawayers did a spot of decorating and generally helped around the house. We love having workawayers. We’re open and flexible but to be fair all round we don’t think it would be realistic for a workawayer to attend an extensive yoga programme and have enough time to also be a workawayer. We say this as we’ve had numerous such requests from people attending programmes here. We may be wrong but of the many yoga students we’ve known the programme itself can be very demanding, leaving little time and energy for other things. Maybe, it might be possible before or after a programme, or if just attending individual classes.

    Stop Press;

    May, June, July 2020 we’re looking for someone to look after the house and Lucie.

    One other possible project is to organise an event for local children to do some art in the park opposite our house. There are local potential partners with the art skills but will require ability to organise and make things happen, interested?

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    One of the bedrooms in our bed and breakfast. When we’re really busy it might be a room with two singles but otherwise it’s possible to have room with double bed. It’s sharing our home with two kitchens, two lounges, sun/roof terrace and outdoor sit out. Full breakfast is included only when we have guests and is usually mushrooms, toast, scrambled egg, etc. If there are no guests mainly muesli, fruit salad. Sometimes we’ll have Indian breakfast. Lunch not provided. Dinner is available some nights. We’re a vegetarian household.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Mysore is a city of a million people that still manages to feel like a town. It’s a popular tourist destination in itself for heritage with many many Palaces and temples and great instructional buildings, and yoga and much more. Further afield there’s tons to see and do: Srirangaptnam island, temple towns, Tibetan settlement, national parks, hill stations.... getting no around is easy. We have cycles available here or on the island, our own trusted drivers ( at a cost) with cars or auto rickshaws. International airport is 3-4 hours away at Bangalore.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3-4 hours a day, five days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 264832725443

Comentarios (2)



Volunteer at a desert resort in Jaisalmer Thar desert, Rajasthan, India
Come help on our farm and create a beautiful space for an art and music community in Genguvarpatti, India