Join a family on a hobby farm, help with small building and gardening projects in beautiful Connacht, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

332 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    24  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi all, my name is John.
    I live in a beautiful part of Ireland on an 80 acre farm. I've 3 girls. They're good-natured friendly girls who keep busy at their musical instruments and hopefully, their homework.
    It's a very picturesque farm. The river Deel runs alongside so basically we live in an a river valley, an ecological niche where nature thrives. Over us all, "our" mountain, Neiphin, looks down.

    I've noticed a couple of single workawayers just recently have found our location too isolated and quiet. I like this calm, but if its the party lifestyle you're after, then our farm is definitely not the destination for you.....it's very quiet around here.

    In the last few years we've used our house to host visitors in a very successful foray into holiday rentals.

    Edit; it's really experienced gardeners I'd really like to invite just now. I've created a wonderful space (quite large) for a productive garden. It overlooks the river, includes a new polytunnel, it's cleared, organised into beds full of good fertile soil......but I lack the knowledge to actually see it realise its potential.

    Now, for the next few months we'd like to improve the farm, establish a garden including a polytunnel, build a small timber bridge (Done!) and a stone one too, rescue a few old sheds, and perhaps construct an 'Olde Worlde' cabin, simply built with a verandah overlooking a slice of heaven, and off-grid naturally.
    We get things done here in a spirit of co-operation and smiles. We've no wish to exploit anyone, or be dismissive of anyone's best efforts.

    Our house has 7 bedrooms so plenty of space.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ok, I'm an experienced English Teacher myself so I can help in that regard if needed....but I think living in a rural community in the west of Ireland would provide any visitors to our farm an immersive experience into Irish Culture.

    Our chief sell though is our farm, and its beauty. The natural world is alive and well in our fields, woods and river..... and we feel honoured to live here.

    My kids all play Irish music (tin whistle, irish flute, and violin) so they'd assist if someone wanted to begin.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We've plenty to do. As mentioned above, we've a gardening project to begin (as I've envisaged it, it could be so lovely), a timber cabin on an elevated deck to build (if we could get this up quickly, our workawayers could move in here if they chose), and other projects too.
    As I said, there's always something to do. :)
    I'd like that any visitors would help out in a safe, methodical and focused way, safety is paramount..... the ability to get along with tasks well unsupervised would be important too.
    Having said all of this, I'd again like to emphasize I do realise this is a cultural/life experience for all visitors; I'd like anyone arriving to look on as friends as they leave whenever on their next adventure.

    So, calling all enthusiastic people but especially gardeners 😊

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We've 7 bedrooms, most double, so plenty of choice. You'll have access to all the comforts of our home. In fact, we'd much prefer if you joined in with us, as against feeling yourself a 'visitor'.
    The house is clean, spacious, and modern.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Please investigate Mayo online; you'll see it's a spectacular county full of interesting and scenic spots.
    Locally we've plenty to see too, and I've bikes there for visitors to use.
    By car, Ballina is 20 minutes away, Castlebar 40, and our local town Crossmolina is 5 minutes drive.
    Of course, we've shops, a cinema, nightclubs, pubs (alot!), doctors, a hospital, churches (alot!), and most other things everywhere else has.
    Within reason, I'd be willing to drive you about occasionally. There are buses and trains locally available too.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We've reasonably good broadband. Other workawayers have worked successfully from here.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We've space for multiple vehicles of any size.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We can welcome almost any pet, including horses, but they must be good-natured and respectful.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)


















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 942916424516