Help our happy family with gardening and enjoy life in Castlemaine, Australia

Country

Australia

19 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    31/10/2021

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family of 4. Helen is a social worker, Martin works for a visual effects company, Freya (8) and Hermione (6) attend a local primary school. During the week it's pretty busy with work and school. but on the weekend we are working on a project at home, or are seeing friends or family. We have two cats, Feliz and Matilda who will hide from you 🐈 🐈‍⬛ a senile Aussie Terrier, Lottie, 🐕 2 goats, 🐐 🐐 4 ducks 🦆 and 5 chooks 🐓 Our house used to be a Bed and Breakfast, and we are slowly turning it more into a family home.

    COVID19 update:
    We are slowly returning to normal. The girls are back at school, and Helen is back at the office. We are fully vaccinated and ask that any Workawayers are too.

    Projects we are have on the horizon:
    There’s always lots of weeding and mulching to do. We also need to build a fence to keep the pesky chickens out of the veggie patch! We recently lost a tree in the storm so we’ll turn all the leftover wood into a hugelkulture bed.
    Jobs can be done at your leisure - eg we might order a trailer load of mulch and get you to spread it out sometime over the week. So you can choose to either do a bit per day or do it all in a day then take time off to relax and explore.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Castlemaine is a lovely town, very arty and community-minded. There are lots of lovely bushwalks to do where you'll see a lot of Australian wildlife. It is close enough to Melbourne for day-trips, but far enough away to unwind. Staying with us would give you the opportunity to practice your English, relax and read under a tree, and escape the bustle of the city backpacker scene.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Work will be mostly helping in the garden and odd jobs around the house such as painting, moving wood, etc. It doesn't require any particular skill, just a bit of muscle and stamina. We have two children, and whilst we will always be around, they will want to talk and play with you. So you'll have to like children!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You'll have your own self-contained cottage. There are two bedrooms, a bathroom and kitchen/living area. You can use the laundry in our house. Workawayers provide their own food and cook for themselves, though we'll often do joint meals together. Help yourself to eggs from the chook house or herbs and veggies from the garden, plus you are welcome to raid of the pantry for ingredients to save yourself having to buy packets of things if you only need a couple of tablespoons!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are about 5km out of town. So ideally you’ll have your own car/bike. We can give you a lift into town if we are around. There is a bus, but it's infrequent.
    Here's some information about the region

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    You can work on your own projects in the cottage. We have a good internet connection, however it can be a bit temperamental for Zoom. If your work uses a lot of bandwidth then please discuss with us first as Helen has scheduled Zoom appointments so you might need to schedule high bandwidth tasks to a different part of the day.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    You can park camper vans in the driveway. You would prefer to sleep in the cottage as it’s on a busy road. Motor homes would be a tight fit.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Will accept friendly dogs.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 941469673395