Help putting in winter garden and helping cats adjust to new home in Aegina, Greece



259 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    THIS COULD HAPPEN IN FUTURE, BUT WILL DEPEND ON THE COURSE OF COVID-19. I'VE DECIDED, AT LEAST FOR THE TIME BEING, TO GO WITH THE SAYING, "BETTER SAFE THAN SORRY" and not have anyone staying in my house besides me and cats with house privileges. Too bad, as I'd love to have someone do a lot of digging in my new garden. Will have to be me for the time being, if at all. Sorry!

    I'm offering a very nice work exchange for someone wanting to stay for a period of time in a quiet, beautiful country house in Greece on the island of Aegina, which is 1 1/4 hours by slow ferry from Piraeus (port of Athens), in a beautiful part of the island with pine forest, the house a ten-minute walk to the sea.

    Non-smoker (or couple), 30-65 years of age, in very good shape and with lots of energy. Gardening experience and stamina for helping me put in my winter vegetable garden (details below in Help Needed section) in the new rental I am moving into by end of October.

    I could also use help moving in (and readying the house) if someone comes earlier, but also after the first week or so and even later. Expect to move around October 27th. It would be ideal to meet someone first--someone already in Greece and/or with flexibility as to scheduling work exchanges, but not obligatory.

    I'm a musician and writer with the need to hear only the music which I am practicing/listening to, so helpers would be asked to bring headphones to listen to their own music. I play traditional Greek music on the violin, as well as Ottoman classical music and some Turkish music.

    The house is large enough, with a large and private guest room (see Accomodation details below), so that a helper might not hear me when I'm playing. In general I live a very quiet life. People who have their own projects to focus on (writing, translating, photography, studying would be ideal) as would those who would enjoy hours spent away from the house--walking in the woods or by the sea, going to the main town, spending a couple of days in Athens or on nearby small, wooded island of Angistri, etc.

    I'd really like to have someone with a cell phone, so that we can communicate easily with one another. And I need someone with a decent knowledge of English or Greek (or both!)

    Covid 19: I would want someone who has tested negative for Covid, and right before coming to stay in my home. Though I myself have not been tested, I haven't left the island at all (which has had only a handful of cases) since February (!!), I've had a minimum of contact with people (have been alone in country house with cats 99.5 % of the time) and have worn a face mask whenever in a shared indoor space (bus to town, markets, and even narrow streets with pedestrians) with others, including rehearsals with one musician 4 times in my present home. I would expect this also of helpers, though they would be certainly be free to be maskless in the guest room or outdoors. Fairly frequent hand-washing would also be expected. The house has two verandas, and weather has been warm, so that socializing and eating can happen outdoors a lot of the time.

    The time period that I would want a helper is uncertain, as it will depend on how we get on and how the garden work goes, though the minimum would be a week. If things go really well, who knows? Maybe the whole winter. If you contact me, we can arrange to talk on phone or do a Chat on Messenger, and perhaps get a better idea of whether things would work out. Thank you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am fluent in GREEK, both spoken and written, and a native English- speaker who has also published articles in English. I play traditional music from various regions of Greece and also from Asia Minor, as well as some Ottoman classical (and other) music on violin.
    Volunteers would be welcome to listen to music from my large collection of traditional music from Greece and Turkey and to peruse my collection of books about and guides to Greece (written in English). I'd be happy to help anyone with English or Greek language or teach them something about the music I play.

  • Ayuda


    Apart from digging in manure and compost, preparing planting beds and watering seed flats, I need help with making sure that my cats don't get lost, since they will surely wander off at first. The home that I am moving out of is close by, so that would mean walking around, finding them and luring them back to the new house with some food. If a helper comes just as I'm moving in, or not too long afterward, I'll certainly welcome help with that process, likely including a little cleaning. If helper/s go to main town, I'd ask them to do some food shopping (paid for by me).

  • Idiomas hablados

    Greek: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Large, private room with double bed and its own toilet, with nice sloped wooden ceiling. The room, which is next to the larger veranda, looks out on the large, walled garden, and is almost like a little cabin.
    I'm a good natural foods cook and offer two cooked meals a day and exceptional organic coffee. All food and drink consumed in house paid for by me. My diet is mostly vegetarian, including dairy products from sheep and goats, but with some fish and free-range chicken included. Sorry, but I can't offer a vegan menu, nor will I pay for meals out or bakery treats.

    There will be Wi-Fi connection in the house. Pine woods just out the door.The house is on a very quiet dirt road, with only a couple of neighbors. Bus stop about 3-minute walk from house. Limited bus schedules to main town, with none returning to this area after mid-afternoon. Trip takes about 25 minutes. Taxis expensive. But on days that I go to main town (harbor), leaving at 10:45 and getting back at 3:00 (or 3:45 on weekends or during school vacation periods), I'm always worn out and happy to be home. But that's me. People used to a busy urban life with easy access to everything won't want to stay here.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The island is beautiful and offers a lot to see and do, especially for those with a vehicle. For those without, there's nice walking from house to sea or in the woods. The sea is a 10 minute walk from house with good swimming spots. The main town (also the harbor) is very pleasant, with neoclassical architecture, one long pedestrian street, a pedestrian walkway on the waterfront, a fish market and good grocery stores, various tavernas and cafes, traditional kafeneia (old-style Greek cafes) and a relaxed atmosphere. Small enough to walk around and see everything in an hour (at most). The coastlines offer beaches and coves of various types and sizes, and there is plenty of unspoiled nature up in the hills, with nice sea views. The small, very undeveloped, wooded island of Angistri is a short ferry ride away, with schedules that allow for day trips.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours max per week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 935666331894