actualizado  

Join us for the olive harvest and discover the local village life in Mani, Greece

  • Grecia
  • 179 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 06/02/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *** Thanks to everyone who took part on the 2022 olive harvest! See you next year ***

    Hello,

    My name is Alexandros! My partner, Claire, and I live in the South of Peloponnese in the village of Lagkada between mountain and sea.

    We moved to the beautiful area of Mani a few years ago with the will to create a village life : we have a vegetable garden, chickens, bees and some olive groves.

    Those olive groves are located in steep terrain and I'm looking for volunteers to help me harvest the olive trees. I had several nice experiences with international volunteers in 2019 & 2020 which mobilises me to live it again this year. The olive harvest is a manual work that needs commitment for the period that you are volunteering for. The expectation is that volunteers are motivated and physically ready to work together in a team and help and support each other.

    The oil produced is for our own consumption and small-scale sales. My main activity is the restoration of Byzantine churches and historical monuments, and Claire's main activity is being an office manager in an architect office. But the olive production is a crucial part of our life : it allows us to cover the yearly needs of our friends and families and to be connected and responsible for our food consumption. That is why I take a break of 3 months during the winter to dedicate myself to this activity. It is the same concept that drives us to forage in the surrounding mountains. Whenever we can, we collect wild herbs, asparagus, figs, almonds, as well as salt. We enjoy making our own yoghurt, olive tapenade, marinated anchovies and more. These are seasonal activities we will be happy to include you in.

    We will do our best for you to have an overall experience of the olive harvest and the local life.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have the opportunity to learn about land regeneration and maintenance, olive farming, and how to distinguish a good quality olive oil from another.

    We both speak English and Claire, being originally from France, speaks French as well. We will be happy to share all about the local food and culture and to arrange activities during the days off depending on your preference. Here are some suggestions :
    - daily road trip of the Laconian Mani
    - visit of a traditional olive mill and oil tasting
    - private yoga lesson for the team

    The area of Mani is a peninsula that gather charming villages on the coastline and the mountain. With its beautiful beaches, hiking paths, and a community of Europeans who live here permanently, it is has the perks of being both wild and dynamic and you are of course free to go and discover it by yourself!

    The closest beach is only 11km by car from the house so you will also have the possibility of going swimming. There is public transport everyday but we will gladly drive you ourselves whenever it is possible.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Volunteers help 5 hours per day and 5 days per week with weekends off in exchange for meals and accommodation. The days off will not necessarily fall on the weekend, the harvest being a dynamic activity that depends from the weather. Because of that, the days off will adjust to the meteo. The olive harvest is an intense period so if a volunteer wants to work extra hours in exchange for a payment in kind, it will be a welcomed help.

    Although the fields are not certified organic due to the small scale of our activity, we produce exclusively organic extra virgin olive oil. Most of the fields have been abandoned by the owners and I work to bring these fields back to life, first by clearing the jungles of high weeds, then by pruning the trees, and finally by harvesting the olives, which is the only way to ensure that the trees will keep on producing. After a period of 5 years without being harvested, the tree stops producing and it is a part of our gastronomic heritage that we lose because it is a very high quality olive specific to the micro-climate of Mani.

    The olive harvest includes the following tasks: pick olives / lay and move nets on the bottom / put olives in bags / burn branches and collect wood / prepare lunch & dinner.

    The team spirit is a crucial part of the harvest: when an individual person joins into one team work, the daily effort becomes easier and more joyful.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Greek: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We offer accommodation in a house located in the village, 5 minutes by foot from our own house. This 70m2 house with WIFI includes a 30m2 bedroom with a double bed and two single beds, a fully equipped kitchen/dining room and a bathroom with bathtub and WC. The 15m2 private terrace offers stunning sea and mountain views. We can host up to 4 volunteers ; it is suitable for couples, friends or individuals. We ask everybody to be responsible for the good running of the house and keep it a clean and livable space.

    Food will be provided for breakfast, lunch, dinner as well as for days off and will be cooked by team members. We will share a small lunch together during lunch break on the field. Breakfast includes bread, butter, jam, oats, and fruits. Extra beverages (soda, beer, lemonade, others) and special requests are not included.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    - We ask people not to smoke in the houses or while working.
    - Social drinking is accepted but not drug or alcohol habits.
    - If you have any mental or physical health issues please let us know so we can assess if this is the right place for you (including allergies, special dietary requirements etc.)
    - Work here is mainly physical - you will need a certain degree of stamina and proper working clothes.
    - The minimum length of stay requirement is 2 weeks

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 143282326854

Comentarios (3)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Looking for a bicycle mechanic on Skopelos Island, Greece
Looking for some general help around our home in the village of Lafkos in South Pilion, Greece