Self-funded sanctuary for rescued animals, set on a hill with stunning views of surrounding farmland in Ireland

Country

Irlanda

329 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    33  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live in an old 2 bed cottage situated on a hill with stunning views of surrounding farmland. We have a small self funded sanctuary for rescued animals, including horses, donkeys, dogs, cats and goats. We have a large organic kitchen garden and enjoy living 'the good life', working in the garden and making use of our produce as well as foraging from the hedgerows for meals, jams, chutneys and wine. Most of our time is spent in our garden and taking care of our large family of animals.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Guests will experience a calm and beautiful place to live with us and our animals, an outdoor life of nature and lovely homegrown produce and vegetarian/vegan cooking. David teaches horticulture and gardening is my passion, along with using our produce in the kitchen so guests would be able to learn how to grow, forage and cook their own healthy food. Spending time caring for and interacting with animals is also a very enriching experience.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would ask our guests to be easygoing with a calm and patient manner as some of our animals are nervous. We always have projects on the go and try to use recycled and environmently friendly materials as much as possible. Primary tasks are care of animals which includes daily feeding of animals and keeping enclosures and paddocks clean of manure. Also grooming and spending time with the horses and donkeys . We also ask for some help in the garden such as weeding, cutting hedges and planting. Guests would preferably have some experience with horses or at least not be afraid of them and need to be physically fit. We may ask for help with different projects we are busy on such as fencing, new stables or other structures. We are slowly making improvements to hour home so possibly some DIY too.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is a double room with shared bathroom in our cottage which would be suitable for a couple or 2 people sharing. Cooked vegan meals will be provided but guests are welcome to prepare their own meals using produce from our garden. We ask that meat is not consumed at our home.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are situated in Beautiful North Kildare surrounded by farmland but we are only 50 minutes from Dublin and the train station is 10 minutes drive, where the train goes into Dublin and to the West of Ireland. There is also a bus service for same. Although we are not directly accessible by publict transport, both David and I drive to Dublin most days and are happy to give lifts to Dublin or the train station. Dublin is a lovely city to visit, with a vibrant nightlife and access to the east coast by train. We also have some interesting historical sights fairly close by such as Newgrange, Hill of Tara and and Trim castle. There is a hotel nearby with Spa and Gym with public access.

    We enjoy meeting and talking with people from around the world as I myself spent many years travelling, meeting interesting people and very much enjoy sharing our home and way of life with others. We expect guests to feel at home with us and to be open and honest when interacting with us and our animals.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 924682694817