Help with gardening, upcycling and enjoy the spanish life in Herrera, Spain

  • España
  • 51 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 28/01/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello my name is Hilary. I have been living in Spain for eight years restoring a 200+ year old former cortijo and creating gardens and an fruit orchard in this lively, thriving agricultural area of Sevilla province, Andalucia. I have two obedient and loving rescue dogs.
    There are two separate dwellings on the site, a main house with three bedrooms and three bathrooms and an attached casita with three bedrooms and two bathrooms. There is an 8x5 metre swimming pool in a private courtyard with pegola, and shady umbrellas as well as a large built in barbeque. Volunteers could choose whether to live in the casita or the main house where the guest room has an en-suite bathroom. For leisure time there is outdoor table tennis as well as badminton in a converted barn, easels for painting and drawing in another converted barn, a boulle court in the orchard and a paddle board for taking to the lakes and the coast.
    Surrounded by olive and almond plantations along with crops varying from wheat, oats and cotton, the river Genil, a Moorish castle on the hill opposite and a couple of local farms the nearest town is 6kms from the house and large supermarkets in towns both a 15 minute drive away. My car would be available to borrow for careful drivers aged 25 or over!
    For those that enjoy wildlife the campo is a source of joy with resident birds, migrating species who come to breed during spring and summer, bats in the early evening and sound of ciccadas throughout the summer. We don't seem to suffer from mosquitos but there are other creepies to enjoy or scream about!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The area is very traditionally Spanish with lots of local festivals and celebrations throughout the year. Some English is spoken but not extensively. There are popular weekly markets in the towns and most local restaurants serve a traditional Spanish menu. There is the opportunity to improve your Spanish or English speaking.
    Cordoba, Seville, Granada are just about equidistant from the house. There is a good train service from the local town to these and also to the coast. Granada is about a 90 minute drive and Seville and Cordoba just over the hour.
    Smaller towns more local to the house have museums with Roman and Moorish buildings and many magnificent churches to explore and learn about the history of this wonderful region.
    The Subbetica national park, the lakes of El Chorro and the fantastic El Torcal and Caminito del Rey are all easily accessible by car for daily trips.
    I have an extensive number of guide books relevant the area.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I need help with gardening - mowing, watering, weeding, sweeping and planting. I would like to create an raised organic vegetable garden at the bottom of the property. I have recycled sufficient plastic bottles in order to construct a greenhouse for more tender plants during the winter and to raise seeds and would like help in building this. There is a disused barn that I want help in converting to a chicken house with the attached run.
    In terms of the houses: With properties of this age there is always an annual need to repair and paint somewhere. Help with these tasks would be appreciated.
    All the necessary equipment will be provided to help with the tasks undertaken.

    In the warmer months an early morning and/or evening walk with the dogs in the adjoining campo is always needed.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would welcome Spanish speakers to help me with my learning.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The two houses have both been extensively restored and provide a high level of comfort. The main house has air-con in the upstairs bedrooms and sitting room. Hot water is via solar panels. The attached casita is single story, ground level with thick walls and traditional shutters so stays cool throughout the heat of summer. Fans can be provided if needed.
    All bed linen and towels will be provided.
    Both houses have washing machines and dishwashers. Both have fully equipped kitchens, The main guest room in the main house has its own ensuite bathroom if workaways would prefer this to the independence of the casita. There is wifi via a mobile system and there are tvs if required. The main house has an upstairs sitting room, tv box for films etc. and a large outdoor terrace for eating out, relaxing and star gazing.
    I enjoy cooking and would be happy to provide delicious meals and snacks for all diets. I mainly eat vegetables with some fish but am not adverse to the occasional meat feast or total vegetarian or vegan menu! Water here is well water so bottled water for drinking and cooking is provided. Wine is relatively cheap and enjoyed with most meals if desired. If workaways enjoy cooking and would like to share meal preparation this would be welcomed too. I envisage us mainly eating together and enjoy a few games of cards, board games or a game of boulle on the court in the orchard if this is something workaways would enjoy too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In spare time off there is ample opportunity to enjoy the area, the wildlife, the white villages of Andalucia and the fabulous historical towns accessible by rail or car for day or overnight trips. I'd be happy to drive and accompany workaways to many of the places I have experienced and enjoyed and also to explore any new places that might appeal.
    In the hot months, simply relaxing by and swimming in the pool with cool drinks and perhaps an evening barbeque or tapas is always enjoyable. Paddle boarding at the coast or on the lakes in the Subbetica is good fun.
    Ferias run somewhere from April to October so attending one of these is always an experience.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is space outside the casa for a large campervan or motorhome.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes, a dog would be acceptable - I have two.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 916672215384

Comentarios (4)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.7)

Comunicación: (5.0)