Creative DIY projects and Māori culture in Christchurch, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

17 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/01/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Kia ora!

    We are Naomi, Jesse and Alex and we are looking for people to join us in our home in Christchurch!

    Naomi and Jesse got married in 2017 and then hit the ground running, travelling to 21 countries across Europe and Central Asia. We returned to NZ in March 2020 and in January we moved into a house, and adopted our flatmate Alex who lives in the cottage at the back!

    Jesse works in construction, Alex is taking time off before university and I (Naomi) work in Marketing and as a Librarian. Jesse is also studying WebDev and Naomi is studying Communication.

    We are looking for:
    1 person
    OR
    Couples or friends who have vans that can be slept in!

    We offer:
    • A small bedroom,
    • Free wifi,
    • Use of XBOX and TV,
    • Basic home cooked meals,
    • Board games,
    • Plenty of books to read,
    • Insight into Māori and Mōriori culture (Naomi is Kai Tahu, Kati Momoe and Mōriori)
    • Many opportunities to meet people!

    We are looking for help with any of the following:
    • Help building pallet furniture,
    • Help building unique fittings for our board games,
    • Language practice/teaching,
    • Help with basic gardening,
    • Help organizing cupboards,
    • Playing board games and joining us for social events.

    You can see the cardholder our most recent Workawayer made for us.

    The benefit for us is communal living and knowing we are helping people get some rest. We are only looking for 1-2 hours of "work" a day averaged out how you want to (so you can do all on weekends, some on weekdays, however) and a few hours of playing board games and sharing cultures. If we run out of things for you to do...just chill!

    We are avid hosts and we are all used to communal living and so living in a normal house is just weird to us which is why we thought we can offer up some of our odd tasks and have people stay.

    You must be queer friendly as we offer a safe house for members of our LGBTQIA+ whanau and you must be ok with laughing at yourself, and getting to know new people often! Also if you can't deal with social events and board games most nights then this is not the place for you!

    We look forward to hearing from you and will update more photos soon!

    Turou Hawaiki (May the Force be with you)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We offer insight into Māori culture, NZ queer culture, various religious and political aspects of NZ life.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for help with any of the following:
    • Help building pallet furniture,
    • Building nerd things,
    • Language practice/teaching,
    • Help with basic gardening,

    Perhaps also making art or something if you are creative.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Maori: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Parking Space for Vans,
    Small bedroom (1 single).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are close to the Purple, 28 and 155 buses so lots of opportunities to explore and we are quite close to Lyttleton by bus.

    Small village center 8 mins walk away, also small boutique mall 8 mins walk in the other direction.

    15 mins bus to town.

    Parks 2-3 mins walk away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a dedicated room for working, with desks, bookshelf etc and we have excellent wifi (Gigabit) that is unlimited.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have space for those with a van and you can still use our facilities!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 915873722814