Teach English while volunteering in a small permaculture farm in Ubrique, Southern Spain.

Country

España

566 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/04/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    1250

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    68.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 54 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a language school placed in South Spain, teaching languages for now over 25 years. We often need ESL Teachers (paid job) for our school. Simultaneously, we are developing a permaculture project at our farm and home. We are trying to build a small, home-community environment to host some of our teachers and other helpers, in exchange of some daily working hours.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Enseñanza

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are located in Ubrique, a beautiful and quiet town in the mountains of Cadiz, between two natural, beautiful parks ( Grazalema and Alcornocales). Because we are away from main touristic areas, you will be exposed to the authentic culture of Southern Spain. We are focalizing on people ready to live and work in nature, with no problem in doing physical work and getting your hands dirty. This is fun!

    Along with the learning of Spanish, you will have nature activities just around the corner. Trekking routes, mountain crossing trails, surfing spot 1 hour drive, africa spotting 1 hour drive... We are open minded people, we have travelled the world in different ways and love to share knowledge and skills, screen documentaries and start endless constructive discussions after dinner.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for nature lovers willing to be immersed in a rural area of South Spain. You will be helping in a permaculture farm in the morning time (2-3 hours/day) and part-time working as an English Teacher in the afternoons - evenings (paid job). The paid working time in the evenings will depend on the needs of the school. We can host 2-3 workawayers, and also accept couples. We ask for a previous experience of at least one year teaching English and some higher education as Bachelor degree or Training Module are mandatory.

    The project in the farm will be an approach to permaculture principles. We have a design that has been developing for the last few years, involving hot composting, vermicomposting, chickens, a nursery house and a separate greenhouse, development of local plant varieties, our garden, biodynamic plants, aromatics, a partially independent solar energy plan (water and photovoltaic), a project for food forest, ... Our aim is to establish a food production system able to feed the people living at the farm. These people will be learning all these skills in the mornings while working in the evenings as professional ESL teachers and earning a monthly wage. Sounds good? keep reading...

    We do not want to treat our permaculture project as just a "kill time" activity, but rather as an exciting project for all of us to contribute and make it grow. There is a permanent knowledgeable person, Pepe, who has been with us for over 15 years. With his constant supervision and help, some days we may be cutting straw and chopping it, mulching the crops, seeding new varieties, developing the planting calendar, managing chickens, developing the future food forest,... During the last two years, we have been needing to learn and improve our preservation and canning techniques for the extra produce we collect (especially in Summer). Our hope is to reach a point in which the majority of the food we eat and prepare comes from our farm below. Some of us have been Whole food Plant-based eaters for more than a year now and we love this idea ¡¡ We do respect other alternative diets or eating habits which go in accordance to our beliefs in helping a sustainable lifestyle. We are not strict and respect the respectables. We feel we learn more and better that way. We do not promote nor respect smoking anymore. We have a flexible cooking schedule, but everyone living and sharing our facilities here needs to help with all tasks as part of our family spirit; some call it community, we call it family. What we are seeking is a desire and willingness to learn, grow and keep a proactive and flexible attitude.

    My daughter Carolina, (10), and I are Spanish native speakers and we also speak English, so you will have the chance to learn or improve your Spanish while not having any problem to communicate in English. Pepe does not speak English at all, so your chances of improving your farm-related Spanish with him are increased here ¡¡

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We offer both shared accommodation with ensuite bathroom in the main building of the farm. You can share the main house common areas, living, kitchen, great outdoor spaces, a small private pool etc. There is also now a separate building which may be perfect for a couple. It has its own bathroom and shower and also includes an attached solarium, creative, chill-out space.
    We do not provide free meals because you will also have paid job. We will share the common food expenses among everyone living at our premises. Any addditional - alternative foods are welcomed, but need to be paid separately.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We prefer and expect a 3 month minimum commitment from our visitors (6 to 9 months is ideal). This is connected with the fact that the offer includes a paid teaching job with strict trimestre schedules. This often requires previous training and adjustments, trimester teaching schedules, etc.

    If you are looking for a place to live in the Spanish countryside, learn or improve your Spanish, while developing small-scale, sustainable farming skills, being part of a community of people willing to share, this could be a good choice for you. At the same time, we offer you a part time, paid job teaching English in a well-established institution.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    While we recognise that it is important to have connection to internet, (in the house we share a "decent" one to communicate, study/search and even watch films), we do not support workawayers who intend to work online, since our goal is to work offline as much as possible - either teaching English or working on the farm or EVEN speak to the other members of our small family :).

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.5)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 914448558265