Join our family with 3 kids in Vienna, Austria

  • 167 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 19 may 2024



 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más



  • Descripción


    I am looking for a long-term volunteer starting in July (or end of July) and staying for August, September and preferably longer. Maybe you want to study German in Vienna or you freelance?

    I have 3 kids (3, 7 and 12 years old) and we have a long-term volunteer who will leave us in the end of July. I would love to find someone with experiences with kids (including small kids), who is reliable and who likes to cook. You will have plenty of time for yourself and we have experiences with arranging and organizing everything and a well-working volunteer schedule.

    We live in a nice, light apartment in Vienna close to the Danube in a community house project.

    Aleksandra, mom, 42 years: I work for Erasmus+ for youth cooperation projects. I studied communication and gender studies, travelled a lot, was teaching at university, and was making documentary film projects. In our free time I like to go out into nature, do sports, go to clubs or concerts. Most of the time it's work & kids though :)

    We speak German and also Slovene (Slovenian minority in Austria). The kids are with their dad during the weekend.

    The kids are Nika Leon (12 years), Lela (7 years) and Muriel (3 years).

    Muriel is a very sweet boy, but his terrible twos just started (so we get a lot of loud no's. He loves books, music and dinos.
    Nika is a soccer fan in 2nd grade of Gymnasium (6th grade), who has a lot to do for school and with soccer training. In his free time he likes: soccer (no kidding), computer games, meet friends.
    Lela attends her first year in school, has friends in our house project, likes to play in the Gemeinschaftsraum (social room), common terrace or garden. She likes drawing, music, biking. Lela is a vegetarian (cause she doesn't want to eat animals).
    It happens that Muriel and Lela quarrel. The kids are used to international people and are open-minded and sometimes I nearly wished one of my kids to be introverted ;)

    We live in a house project with women and international & Austrian families. We get on well with the people and kids in the house. We have nice shared common spaces: a sunshiny big rooftop terrace with a great view, a garden with trees, a little playground and meadow, a Gemeinschaftsraum (common room with kitchen) and a sauna for all in the house to use.

    You will have your own bright room with a bed, a desk, a wardrobe, WiFi, shared balcony towards the South. The house is just a 5min walk to the U1 Kagraner Platz (20 min to Stephansplatz, 10min to Praterstern). You can bike and swim in the Alte Donau (10min). There is a shop on the other side of the road and a soccer playground next to our house.

    Our household is smoke-free. One may smoke outside (on the balcony). I think a transparent communication and a good organization are important so that family life, work and volunteer time can work well together :)

    To sum up: we do need help with household chores such as cooking, dish washer, laundry, grocery shopping. And to spend afterwork time with us; from time to time you might have to pick up the kids, play & be creative with them, do sports with us, study with Nika... Maybe you'd like to give it a try and visit the beautiful city of Vienna?

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Get to know a vivid family life in Vienna with multicultural background. Our little Muriel is the sweetest and so open to new people. You will be able to learn German if you want to.
    You might wanna find out more about kids, education (and its challenges). We would like you to feel as a part-time member of a family. On some evenings -when not too tired after long work/kids days -we like to hang and talk about travels, people, politics, films, drinking a glass of wine or a beer. For sure you will get a good insight into a family life in Austria with 3 kids - more than Austrian average ;)

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Weekly schedule & tasks

    Mo - Fr 7:00 -7:40 breakfast preparing and dish washer, helping with kids getting dressed & ready

    15:00 -19:30 after work family time with kids & Aleksandra: cooking dinner, cleaning up table, dish washer, playing or be creative with kids, studying a bit English or Maths with Nika, playing soccer with Nika, making sports with them. Also to be tidying up kids games with them. "Playing with kids" can be: board games/making music or singing/reading books/talking about soccer with Nika/drawing etc.

    grocery shopping
    helping us with vacuum cleaning; whipping floor once a week
    1-2 times/week: laundry (machine wash, dryer, folding them)

    Friday afternoon/evening can be off. Occasionally babysit sleeping kids.

    Sunday evening family week starts with dinner together, helping us get everything ready for the work week. Planning the coming week.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Slovenian: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante
    Georgian: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I grew up in the Slovene minority in Carinthia, at the Austrian border to Slovenija and Italy. I have travelled a lot and lived abroad. We like to improve our Spanish, English, Slovene. Learn new words from your language.

  • Alojamiento


    I provide a big and sunshiny spare room with a bed, a desk, a comfy chair to read, an empty wardrobe. You will have a door onto the balcony towards the South: light all day until sunset. The 20m2 big room is next to the kitchen and farthest away to the other rooms so some privacy is guaranteed :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We find it so cool to live so close to the metro: U1 Kagraner Platz, guaranteeing a fast connection to Vienna city center, Hauptbahnhof, Maria Hilferstraße, MQ, Donauinsel...
    There is a big cultural (music /museum/ arts) scene in Vienna to discover.
    We live close to such nice places like Alte Donau, Donaupark, Danube, the Donauzentrum (mall). We are happy to go to nice places together - we like to do rope climbing and bouldering, swimming, biking, go to playgrounds like motoric park or go on little hiking tours. I have a car, too.
    There is a direct bus to the airport from Karan and the U1 is going from Hauptbahnhof Vienna to Kagraner Platz.

    Vienna is close to Slovakia and not far from Prague and Budapest - by train or bus.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas


  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 911525866479

Comentarios (3)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.7)

Join us and help with different projects in the beautiful Salzkammergut, Austria
Help on a little private farm with horses in Upper Austria