British family looking for help with horses, dogs, and gardens in the Charente France



213 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  • Descripción


    We are Pam and Mike. Mike is legitimately retired and Pam just quit. Pam is from Scotland and Mike is from Newcastle. We live in the Charente France with a load of horses and dogs. Pam still competes with two of the horses. We enjoy our animals, our lovely home, and spending time with family and friends. Within the grounds of our home there are opportunities for walking, riding, swimming, playing tennis and fishing. Sitting on the terrace enjoying the view is also possible! We very much enjoy welcoming people to our home and have previously provided placements for language students. Pam had a senior management job in social work services for children and Mike was an engineer working for power companies before moving to France. Work-wise the jobs involve animal care and garden/grounds/pool maintenance. If you are coming to France and think you would enjoy helping us, please get in touch. We look forward to hearing from you.

    Top of the jobs list at the moment (winter 2020) are dealing with brambles, leaves, fallen trees and fencing.. Not the cleanest or most exciting jobs in the world but if you don't mind working hard, we will look after you very well and include you in our lives here in France.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If anyone wants to know a bit about Scottish and Geordie culture in the warmth of the French sun - you will of course learn a lot about France - this is the place to come to.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We are very lucky to live in a large house with extensive grounds including grazing land for our horses, a swimming pool, a tennis court, two lakes and gardens. In addition to our five horses, we have three dogs, three chickens, two doves and a cat. We can always use some help with the animals and the grounds. The current jobs include tackling the brambles which seem to be taking over some paths and borders, chopping up fallen trees and clearing leaves. Skills in using a brush-cutter, a chain saw and a tractor and topper would be particularly welcome at the moment. For anyone who is a decent rider, Pam can use help in looking after and exercising the horses.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have en -suite bedrooms available to workawayers. Ours is a large home with a big sitting room and dining room. A south-facing covered terrace runs the length of the house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our home is on the outskirts of a small town in the Charente France. It is an easy walk into the town from our house - harder on the way back because it is up a hill! The town has a railway station with daily trains to the cities of Angouleme and Limoges. Local amenities include a number of bars, restaurants and shops. The nearest airport is at Limoges - about 40 minutes away. Within easy reach of our town are extensive Roman remains, various chateaux, leisure lakes, and medieval villages. We love living here - the weather is much better than in Scotland! We are both ex-smokers and whilst volunteers are welcome to smoke outside, we ask that the house stay smoke free. We love our animals who are part of our family and must be treated as such.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 897693249986