Help us with a DIY renovation project in Audembert, France

  • Francia
  • 526 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 29 nov 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    Hello kind stranger! Our names are Claire and Michiel, we're a Franco-Belgian couple living on an old farmstead near the coast at Wissant, North of France. For 6 years now we are renovating the farm bit by bit. After living in a mobile home for 2,5 years, we finished refurbishing a stablehouse as our home in 2020, just in time to welcome our now 3yo daughter Fleur. We renovated our 'longère', a typical long farmhouse from 2021 to 2023 with WorkAway and now it's finished! We got our second daughter Perle at Christmas 2023. We're taking a winter break from hosting, but next spring we'll continue renovating the adjacent buildings and maintaining the vegetable garden.

    We're welcoming help renovating a small adjacent building as additional rooms for WorkAwayers and landscaping the vegetable garden in preparation for next planting season. The animals will also need to be fed (only chickens at the moment, we also have sheep but they only need feeding in winter), as well as maintaining the garden and/or keeping our daughters happy while we're outside working :)

    We're fully booked for the next few weeks and we're taking a winter break from hosting until next spring. If you want to come by somewhere next year, send us a message and we'll keep you posted!

    If you'd decide to come and live with us for a few weeks, we'd be very happy and eager to get to know you! We have quite some experience in hosting our friends, WorkAwayers and helpers from other sites, people say we're very hospitable :) So far we've hosted 88 WorkAwayers from 25 different nationalities, each and every one was an unforgettable experience!

    We love hosting people and look forward to meeting you!
    Claire and Michiel, Fleur and Perle

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In your spare time, you may go for long walks on the beach or on the countryside with a view of the English coast across the channel. There's a lot of museums in the region as well, mostly dedicated to WW2 or the sea and sealife.

    Claire is a musician (voice, guitare and violin) and plays in a band. They have a concert once or twice every month, it's always a lot of fun. If you're also a musician, it would be lovely to play together!

    We always try to have about 4 volunteers present, so you won't only pick up un French culture and language but also on the other nationalities present. We've hosted 25 different nationalities so far!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    In the summer of 2021, we've started construction on the largest farm building. We started demolishing walls, taking out concrete flooring and re-did the roof.

    Next up is renovating a small adjacent building to make additional rooms for WorkAwayers, we'll redo the entire building, keeping only the exterior walls. The tasks on hand will depend on the status of our works. There's some heavy lifting as well as light work, so anyone should find what suits them!
    Building experience is not a requirement, but being curious and wanting to learn is ;)
    For those with green fingers there's our biological vegetable garden to maintain, as well as feeding our chickens and caring for our sheep.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Polaco: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We're a Franco-Belgian couple, with partly Polish roots. We can practice with you in French, Flemish/Dutch and English.

  • Alojamiento


    We provide your meals and housing in either our Tiny House or a room of the not-yet renovated mansion house, with a makeshift bathroom nearby. It's no luxury, but liveable. The kitchen is shared in our house. All ameneties on site are available for you, woodstove, barbecue, pergola, terrace, mountainbikes, tandem, jacuzzi, kayaks, SUPs, washing machine, ...

    We provide bedsheets and towels, as well as working clothes, safety boots and safety gear if needed. Of course you're welcome to take your own if that makes you feel more comfortable.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    To allow us a family life, breakfast is shared between WorkAwayers in the mobile home, all other meals are shared all together in the main house. Working hours and days are decided with everyone present, with respect of the 25 hours/week.
    We LOVE boardgames and we'll often play a quick game at lunch or a long one after dinner.
    Easiest pick-up for us is Calais Frethun train station, which has a direct connection to Paris, London and Brussels. We'll pick you up and drop you off at the train station.
    We're in the middle of the 'Parc Régional Naturel' so there's a lot of wildlife to be spotted around the farm and a lot of nice walking and biking routes around. We're also within the 'Grand Site des Deux Caps', which means that a lot of the nicest spots are arranged for visitors with explanatory signs etc.
    If the weather allows for it, we'll take you on kayaking trips at sea, we might even have a barbecue on a sandbank 4km off the coast, only visitable a few times a year!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Office space would be shared with Michiel, who is an architect working mostly from home. Time to socialise with us and the other volunteers present is really important to us, so we only accept part-time digital nomads, no more than 2 hours/day or 1 day/week.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There's more than enough space on our farm to find a nice spot for a van :D

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    6 a day, 4 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 644657813744

Comentarios (36)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help to renovate an old farm in Aveyron, France
Help out with childcare and around our home in Bourg Saint Maurice, French Alps