Help finishing a beautiful boat in South West UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

409 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/05/2022

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello,

    This is Vertrouwen (it means 'trust' in Dutch). Measuring 30m x 4.65m she's a bit of a palace on the water. She's a 107 year old Dutch barge that's gone through many guises in her lifetime, starting her life with sails, being fitted with an engine in the 1940's and then being extended my 5 metres in the middle in the 1950's, and later converted to a houseboat in the 1980's.

    I am Adam. I am a tree surgeon and run a sawmill. And for hobbies, I rock climb and practice doing doubles trapeze and acro every week, as well as handstands. I'm also a photographer and am learning storytelling. And I love a game of chess. You'll be welcome to join me in anything I do. I did all of the work on the boat (with my ex-Pearl), everything you see we made or fixed. It's been a labour of love and the boat took almost 2 years of our lives to rescue it from the scrap yard. But now she really is something to behold.

    Even though the boat is finished, I would still like some help. The main jobs are; re-painting the inside and oiling the floors, and helping with cooking and looking after Alba the dog.

    You don't need to be an engineer, as long as you are fit and willing, and have a strong sense of care and quality then I can provide everything else and the time off on this canal is pretty lovely. Its a very comfortable space, with oak floors and kitchen worktops and dining table made from a tree that I felled 5 years ago. Plus there is a piano and guitars if you are musical. I'll feed you well and will try to involve you in any gigs, parties, dinners in Bristol or Stroud (I also work in Bristol three days a week so can take you in to the city). It's really beautiful being in nature here on the Sharpness Canal, quiet and dark at night and with the wood burner going (there is central heating too) its really cosy.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am happy to share my knowledge on building, carpentry, metal work and off grid systems, and of course to improve your english if that is what you seek. In my spare time I like to rock climb, cycle, play chess, play guitar, do circus and enjoy photography. I also go to swing dance classes. Oh and I like cold water swimming if you are feeling brave!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Currently left on the list :

    (re-)Paint the inside
    sand floors and oil

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You'll have your own double bedroom and the bathroom is fully functional with bath and shower, with all water heated through solar. The living space and back deck is yours to share of course.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Sharpness Canal is beautiful and close to Bristol and Stroud. I can always drop you off at the local station if you want to go to Bristol at the weekend, or else you can always join me in whatever I'm doing.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.4)

Comunicación: (4.8)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 897363212427