Restoration and administration help in the Shetlands, Haroldswick, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

68 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    14/03/2022

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Based in Unst, Shetland, this family-run company produces online concerts, boutique tours, yoga and music retreats. The historic building will eventually house an arts and fine crafts gallery.

    The lady of the house, Sunita, is a harpist and can be heard practicing in her upstairs studio (but not when you are sleeping), and if you lucky, she'll have a local concert scheduled during your visit. Bring your instrument (s) if you are a musician.

    Her husband Fred presides over the renovation and administers the tours and events. He also is very involved with his second homeland Israel/Palestine, and runs an organisation there that operates cultural and political tours. Fred is also a carpenter and builder, loves organic gardening, is a circus arts aficionado, a skilled juggler and teaches Shotokan Karate at the local leisure Centre. Most of all Fred cycles, both in Unst and across the planet, spending weeks or sometimes months each year cycling in remote areas, fully loaded with camping gear.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Unst is an island of about 500 people, mostly living in three villages and scattered housing and crofts. There are numerous opportunities to interact with locals, at the monthly farmers market, village hall concerts and events, and at events hosted by our organisation. Hiking, bird-watching and whale watching are popular on the island. Seals bask in the sun in front of the centre on the rocks in Haroldswick Bay

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help with restoring the centre and its grounds. People with building maintenance, DIY, carpentry, joinery and gardening are particularly useful to our work, especially at a skilled or semi-skilled level. However an unskilled person with enthusiasm for the work might also be suitable.

    We also run cultural and music tours, yoga retreats and musical projects, and would be interested in administrative assistance with these projects.

    All work will be paid the UK minimum wage (currently £8:21/hour), with adjustment for your room (£60/week). You'll also be asked to chip in for food shopping. If you opt to camp, or have your own motor home, or find other accommodations, then the wage will be the full minimum wage.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Hebrew: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Full room and board is provided in the family home in the village of Baltasound, just a short cycle or bus ride away. The lady of the house loves to cook and there's usually a warm soup on the stove and bannocks at breakfast. You'll have your own small room, share a bathroom, and full access to the living space of the house - Kitchen, sitting room and garden.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The residence is just a 4-minute walk from the post office and grocery shop, and there are fun walks all around. You can also take the family dog for a walk if you like.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Very much so. We have a super connection and line of sight to the EE mobile tower just 500 metres away. We use phones as hotspots and get download speeds of up to 100MB. Getting an EE sim card is highly recommended. At our home we have a boosted router, and use the same mobile tower. The local leisure centre was a good wifi for free, as does the office of our friends at the 'Unst Partnership' which allows use for a very small fee.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Yes, so long as it is not too big.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Quiet and calm dog - so long as he/she gets along with our dog.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25- 40 hours/week. - 9am - 2 or 5pm


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 891929241467