Help as a teacher in a rural primary school in Panzós, Guatemala

Country

Guatemala

347 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hola,
    We live in a finca in the Guatemalan countryside. The region is almost entirely populated by Q'eqchi indigenous.
    Our little private primary school was founded in order to promote education at the local level, enabling the kids of the surrounding communities to access primary education. We employ 2 local teachers and we try to have always 2 volunteers at the same time. The school has 40 kids from 6 to 13 years at the moment.
    The volunteers have to speak and write Spanish accurately as they teach the basic disciplines in Spanish.
    The school year begins in January and ends in October. Usually the volunteers stay for 5 months.
    The place is really beautiful, located in the Polochic's valley at the foot of a mountain. We are quite close to Lake Izabal (55 km) and to Livingston and the Caribbean coast (120 km).
    Accommodation for the volunteers is great: a nice equipped wooden house in our garden, with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom.
    We are a sympathetic Belgian-Guatemalan couple with 2 young kids. We welcome you in our house every day for lunch and twice a week for dinner, to share a drink and eat a good meal like homemade pizzas for example.
    For those who'd be interested in childcare, we're also looking for a French (or Spanish)-speaking person for our kids.
    You'll love the experience! Contact us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Enseñanza
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    What we offer them is a real and strong intercultural exchange as we live in an almost 100% indigenous area, where the people's habits and way of living are very different from ours. Nevertheless the volunteers also have access to our lifestyle, which is simple but more more European style. Living in the countryside in the middle of nowhere, eating local, producing its own food... is also part of the life we're offering. At school, the exchange between kids and volunteers is generally very enriching and doesn't focus only on the education of the kids. The volunteers also learn a lot from them and their families: some have learned a bit of Q'eqchi (the local language), others took part in soccer championships with the fathers, sometimes they're invited to their houses to share typical meals, etc.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The classes are given in the morning from 7:30 to 12:30. Generally, each volunteer takes care of a group of 7 to 10 pupils and provide them general classes of primary level, all in Spanish. The afternoon is free, the volunteers just have to prepare their classes for the following day.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The volunteers stay in a nice cabin in our garden. They have their own bathroom and private space. They cook themselves breakfast and dinner with the local products we give them, while we have lunch all together in our house. We are a relatively young couple formed by a Belgian woman and a German-Guatemalan man. We speak various languages and we love receiving people in our house. We have 2 young children aged 5 and 3 years.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Various activities can be done on the weekends: horse-back riding, hiking in the mountain with its breathtaking views over the valley, you can visit beautiful places like Semuc Champey, el Paraíso or el Boquerón, quite close to the finca. We also organize pizza nights and parties with friends living in the area. In short, you won’t get bored!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 878189826223