Family permaculture in Boston Bar, Canada

  • Canadá
  • 15 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 10 sept 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    We are a small hobby farm with a big permaculture goal on 98 acres of a canyon mountain side. We offer the roots of British Columbia's rich gold rush history. Our tasks for learning include many DIY building projects, care of horses, goats, chickens and rabbits, orchard and forest gardens.

    We have 5 horses: Arabes, a Pertrone/Arabe cross, a Fjord mix, quarter horse mix and a mini. Our girls enjoy cross country riding and vaulting. Being home schooled, they have resources for many sports to share. They have their own vaulting barn and small outdoor arena, obstacle and archery courses, and a variety of fitness equipment.

    The winter months can be harsh here but beautiful with various snow activities. Visiting in the winter will require comfort in working with average temperatures of -10 degree Celsius to as low at -30 for 1-2 weeks. Summer conditions here reach the other extreme of dry temperatures as high as 47 degrees Celsius. Local rafting companies offer great deals for residents to cool off and learn about the canyon history. We have many recreation options from snow shoeing and cross country/back country skiing to rock climbing, hiking, mountain biking, lake paddling and river rafting.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are happy to work together in learning about permaculture and animal care. We would love to share our trails and knowledge in health and fitness to nurture the best that you can be. Alli is a world class obstacle race athlete and coach. John is a Massage therapist and yoga instructor with 10 years experience in neurophysiology. He is handy with tools and eager to share his renovation experience and tree/gardening skills.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    For our homestead there is much to do in preparing and stacking firewood for the winter. There are brush and tree branches to clear. Help with watering, feeding and cleaning after animals would be greatly appreciated. For trades people there are various sheds and decks to be built and painting to be done. Alli and I (John) have a strong health and fitness background to share. I also have had many years of experience in home renovations. Over the past four years I have learned to climb and fell trees, garden, operate and service heavy machinery, look after animals.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Spanish, Chinese, French

  • Alojamiento


    RV with queen or 2 twin beds, power, water and sewage are connected with additional outdoor cooking space. Tent camping and camper with use of outdoor washrooms. Furnished suites can be arranged.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The are lots of outdoor adventures one site: mountain biking, hiking, trail running, archery. In the area, one can go kayaking and canoeing, white water rafting. For those with horse experience, riding in the arena and trails can be discussed. Helpers may elect to visit Vancouver several times a month along with John for his weekly/monthly appointments.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We generally have good internet access through Starlink although it can be spotty at times. We have various accommodations camper and RVs as well as furnished cabins that are well heated in the winter.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We has space to accommodate those with campervans and even recreational vehicles.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We are happy to accommodate small pets that are well mannered. In consideration of the farm animals, pets that are slow in response to commands will need to be on leash and otherwise contained.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 877493653965

Comentarios (1)


Help us with landscaping, gardening, or building projects while enjoying outdoors and nature in Nelson, Canada
Come help and learn with us, on our off-grid homestead in the West Kootenays of British Columbia, Canada