Help us in starting and shaping our small homestead in the peaceful countryside of Sammatti, Finland

  • Finlandia
  • 125 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 5 dic 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    We are a small and young family with a 5-year-old daughter.

    We moved to and recently bought this beautiful property in the idyllic Finnish countryside, only one hour from the capital city, Helsinki. Go for peaceful strolls in the forest, or enjoy an invigorating sauna evening!

    The property is under one hectare, about half of which is forest, with some large trees. There is a standard Finnish wood heated sauna, which we use regularly, the main house, and a tiny house in the yard (+ few other buildings).

    We have many visions for this place. We imagine having goats or sheep, chicken, bees, and maybe a dog at some point. This summer we started a garden with about 20 vegetables, beans, and potatoes. We intend to keep expanding the food garden, and eventually produce a good part of the food we eat. While we do have ideas, a clear vision and intention is still to be made, and perhaps you can also participate in shaping it!

    We want the place to stay lively. Friends coming and going, and even closer friends living in the property with us. Small events and gatherings, and projects to share and learn together.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are a Finnish-Brazilian family, and besides learning about the sauna culture, and the Finnish landscape, there is a lot you might be interested in:
    - Brazilian food and culture (I'm a Brazilian Forró dance teacher ^^)
    - Starting a homestead
    - Gardening
    - Sourdough bread making
    - Yogurt making
    - Making cheese: fresh, hard, halloumi, ricotta
    - Hand tools and power tools
    - Wellbeing, somatics, mindfulness, movement, dance
    - What are you interested in?

    Other skills that you can improve:
    - Communication
    - Organization
    - Adaptability
    - Physical coordination
    - Self-regulation (chill and find peace inside)
    - What are you interested in?

  • Ayuda


    Most of the help we need is with physical work: pruning trees, carrying branches, moving things around, raking, making firewood, etc.

    All the buildings in the property need maintenance, and depending on when you come, we might be in a building or renovating time, and then we might need help with that. If you have skills, or are interested and learning more about building / renovating, we can plan on doing some of that when you come.

    The garden always needs work, and we want to prepare some beds for the summer, especially a strawberry patch, and a green house.

    If you like to hang out with kids, our 4-year-old daughter is always looking for something interesting to do.

    That being said, in 2023-4 we have a few plans:

    - we're getting a Yurt in May, and will need to assemble it + build a platform
    - some renovation in the sauna
    - spring + summer food garden work, more intense work in April-June
    - making firewood is a big task, as usual
    - maybe getting some chickens

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Finnish: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio
    Swedish: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We're happy to share our languages and culture with you, and we love when there's another person who speaks Brazilian Portuguese around. Our main languages are - Brazilian Portuguese (native) - Finnish (native) - English (fluent - daily life at home)

  • Alojamiento


    You'll sleep either in the house or in the new yurt. Most likely in the house, in a room which gives some privacy, and is next to the kitchen. When there are 2 workawayers, the sleeping area is separated by a curtain to give a little privacy. That being said, people usually have a good time staying there. The mattresses are comfy and the blankets are warm.

    The kitchen is open for you, and it's nice when we can share a meal together. Besides the usual shop items, we usually have fresh sourdough bread with organic ingredients, and fresh yogurt and cheese made from local farmer's milk. (made by us, of course)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The property is 2 km from the supermarket, library, and main bus stop, which has frequent buses to Lohja, the nearest town.

    There is quite an active community around, and friends are often gathering and meeting each other, and we can always throw our own parties and invite others to visit.

    Depending on the season, a few different activities are possible:
    - Stroll in the forests
    - Picking forest berries or mushrooms
    - Going to the lake for a swim or enjoying the sun
    - Going to the lake for cross country skiing
    - Ice skating at the village school's ice rink (or on the lake when there's no snow)
    - Meeting other workawayers and their hosts

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Mobile connection in Finland is generally great, with cheap unlimited plans. In the countryside, without fibre connections, the speeds are usually not as great as in the city, but we have a great connection available, more than enough for my daily work as a software engineer. I work mostly at a standing table, and if we happen to work at the same time, we could possibly take turns between the table and the couch.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    It's a spacious property, and we have plenty of parking space. Welcome to come with your own accommodation.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Animals are welcome, especially if they don't come into the house. Dogs love this place, and the nice branches they find around.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 865684664282

Comentarios (8)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Enjoy life with our family in the forest in Fagervik, Finland
Sustainable tourism near Klamila, Finland