1 / 4

Help me out around my house and garden near Turku, Finland

  • Finlandia
  • 28 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 27 nov 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Hi, I met lovely workawayers on my internship time last winter in Athens, Greece. I am older student, my children are grown up and my family is now 3 dogs and two cats. I have this old house from mid 1800, gardens, outer building in pretty South West Finland, not far from Turku (port & airport) and also small distance from railway.
    Lots of bird life, some deer and other wildlife, the little village has river and small rapids and old museum mill. Sea is about 30 min away, neighbor friend of mine has horses and chicken. My animals have pens and catio, though the dogs love long walks too. They are family members and allowed everywhere in the house. One of my cats has mild case asthma and he has easy medicine once a day.
    House has heaps of projects of reno, I use recycled materials and creativity. My budget is low, yet I have many ideas and very eager to learn and curious to experiment. There is little bit of painting, roofs need repairs (only if this interests someone). There are mosaic/ tiles projects to begin, toilet/ bathroom redoing, floors redoing... Hose is totally winter livable even now, yet many things need helping hands. I have quite a bit room for even many people simultaneously to stay. One of the outer buildings has been planned to transform into a loft to and sauna for visitors. I would need help especially from May onward during the summertime, as in winter there is less possibility to do any work.
    In May I need help with my animals especially, even house sitting for a short while. Other times all kids of help with garden and renovations are so welcome. I prefer old fashioned methods and sustainable practices, I compost and grow organic. I am certified Natural Therapist and Cam specialist - as well as masseur. My studies are wellbeing& adventure tourism management related and I have traveled heaps around the world, also lived many years in different countries, Luxembourg, Australia, NZ, Italy... then all Europe an Asia as visits. I have couchsurfed, hosted and been have travelled and done work exchanges in the past.
    I am bilingual in English-Finnish and have studied also French, Swedish, Italian - and bits of German and other languages.
    I love writing, music, singing too, shaman drum, have one didgeriroo if anyone wants to try to play it...

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Sharing stories, food, ideas, creating art and art related within the reno, learning to use recycled materials and build in old- fashioned style with wood mainly. Creating mosaics and other tile works. I will also share / teach my natural therapies, massage to them interested. Having the loving company of my sweet animals and most likely also neighbors horses to pat - even riding may an option. I am willing to take the visitors to see the area a bit, seaside, nearby cities, in summer there is also quite many festivals relatively close by. I do quite a bit handcrafts, so I can also show and talk about them... Learning languages, taking photographs, observing wildlife...

  • Ayuda


    People who want to work with their creativity, hands on doing some parts of the reno and or garden projects. Love animals and like walking, even running with dogs. Spending good time together, cooking, sharing stories, long chats or meditation in quietude of nature. Skilled in building, willing to learn, want to see Nordic Spring/Summer and white nights magic. Tell me what you are good at, and lets talk more.

  • Alojamiento


    Main house in the first place, outside loft building, when it has been altered to this purpose. Beds and mattresses and rooms are many. Cooking together or as agreed.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I can pick up from railways, nearby cities, and take to excursion on the near area. Respecting the nature and keeping house welcoming for everyone - I am not super tidy, yet it helps to keep dishes clean after meals and some routines to overall functionality. Vacuum etc when needed, respect host and other people privacy when sharing house together - normal living othervise.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 272516897467



Come and help out with childcare and lego project in the capital of Finland, Helsinki
Experience rural life on my old farm and help with gardening, art and DIY projects in Taalintehdas, Finland