Help on a non-profit family farm in Fugloy, Faroe islands

Country

Islas Feroe

42 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    81.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Claire (42), I am a South African, married to Faroese Steingrím (46)
    Together we work our sheep farm that has been in his family for many hundreds of years. We are not a business. We live on the very remote, quiet island of Fugloy.

    I was a primary school teacher and art teacher in Cape Town for 20yrs and now I care for 200 Faroese sheep, while my husband, like many here, works as an engineer on a huge fish processing trawler for 3 months at a time, 9 months a year. I find that while I can do lighter farm tasks, I need help around the farm.

    My husband speaks Faroese and English, I speak English, Afrikaans and a very small amount of Faroese. Almost everyone on the island under 70 speaks some level of English.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    There are lots of opportunities to chat to locals and learn about the history, folklore and natural environment.
    The pace on the island is slow and people are usually open to a chat and a cup of coffee.

    Opportunities for fantastic photography, sketching, writing, film making and reading in your free time.
    Great hikes and gentle walks, our collie, Luca, would love to join you.
    We are known as having a great variety of birds including puffins.
    We also share the island with about 1000 sheep.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are a medium sized non-profit sheep farm on the remote island of Fugloy. We have about 200 sheep who live outdoors most of the year. Im needing help with general farm running and upkeep, carpentry, fencing and animal care.
    We have almost every woodworking and maintenance tool you could ask for, timber and other raw materials.

    Some tasks that need doing:
    1. Building a sheep shelter in the higher grounds for bad weather.
    2. Fence repairs
    3. Organising the workshop and cleaning tools
    4. Barn repairs and power washing
    5. Help herding on foot (5 - 10km of hiking) and catching sheep to give medicine when needed in Spring and Autumn
    6. Help with hay harvest in late August
    7. Help with grass fertilizing in Spring
    8. Feeding sheep in Winter and Spring
    9. House renovations

    Would suit someone with:
    Carpentry skills
    Some sheep/farming experience would help
    Good fitness level and strength
    A quiet, introvert personality who loves nature and solitude
    English speakers
    Non smoker
    Non drinker

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Rural farmhouse, 3 very small single rooms in a 3 story house under construction.
    We are a working farm, so expect all that comes with that. mud, wind, rain, lots and lots of sheep poop! Everywhere!
    Bring hardwearing and water resistant clothes, boots, raincoats.

    Located in the village of Hattarvík, on the island of Fugloy.
    Ocean or mountain views from all bedrooms. Sheep (and lambs in Spring) roam freely around the village.

    There are 4-5 permanent residents in our village of Hattarvik and about 12 residents in the village over the mountain, 5km away. You would have use of our car. In the Summer we get lots of tourists, so its not completely isolated.
    We have a post office and tiny shop in the other village, Kirkja, for essentials and sweets, both inside the operators home.

    We have a young energetic collie dog and two cats.
    Ample mutton/lamb and fish in the freezer. Anything else can be ordered by ferry from the mainland.
    Happy to cater for vegetarians, but not vegans.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Access to and from the island is via ferry 3 times a day (in Summer) or reasonably priced helicopter 3 times a week.
    Very easy options to travel to Denmark/Iceland and Scotland via 2hr flights.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 859895655781