Looking for help in the house and garden near Tomar, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • 78 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 20 feb 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Hello, I'm Mindi I'm originally from The UK but I moved to Portugal in Summer 2017, to live a simpler, rural life.

    I live in a village 6.6km south of Tomar so I am not 'off grid' but try to be as sustainable as I can by growing fruit and vegetables to eat. We have our own water and sanitation but also fibre internet.
    I have 3 dogs, 2 cats and 6 chickens so it is important that you are comfortable around animals and have an open heart. My good friend lives next door with another cat!
    I teach English online so I am indoors for much of the day. I am happy to help English learners and love to learn about other languages and cultures.

    I am pretty relaxed and easy going and love meeting new people.
    I am looking for someone (1 or 2) who is/are happy to do tasks independently.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Enjoy the relaxed pace of life in Central Portugal.
    The Tomar area has a wealth of historical sites and beautiful locations to explore and I would be happy to share my love of Portugal with you.
    It's a 20 minute drive to Castelo do Bode dam and its massive reservoir, river and beaches. There is wakeboarding, paddle-boarding etc.
    We are 10 minutes from World Heritage site Convento do Cristo
    Discover the pleasure of eating food from the garden, drinking local wine or chilling in a hammock.
    I am a native English speaker, learning Portuguese.
    I am a qualified UK schoolteacher and TEFL teacher and I am always happy to help with learning English.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    I would love some help to look after the animals, and to maintain the vegetable garden, flower beds, little vineyard and trees. I would love some help with planting, weeding, pruning and harvesting .
    There is a lot to do here to maintain and improve the land and buildings.
    I'd really appreciate help with painting and fixing fences etc.
    As I teach English online 5 days a week, this would suit a somebody who is happy to do tasks independently.
    I can show you how to clean a swimming pool!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Portugués: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I really need to improve my Portuguese. I am a qualified, experienced English teacher so if you want to improve your English skills, I am happy to help.

  • Alojamiento


    Tiny caravan in the garden, with double bed, mini-fridge, lights and electricity.

    Shared bathroom in the house with shower, toilet and basin.
    Use of the kitchen, dining-room, and sitting-room.
    Wi-fi, TV, N64

    Chill by the pool or in the garden hammocks.
    Swim in the 8mX5m outdoor pool.
    (Please note, clothing optional in pool area!)

    Help yourself to breakfast and lunch, we share an evening meal in the house or outside. All vegetarian. Can accommodate vegan and gluten free diets too. I welcome help in the kitchen, preparing, cooking or washing up!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The house is situated in a village 6km from the beautiful city of Tomar, with its World Heritage Templar castle. There are regular buses and trains so it is a great base to explore central Portugal. I can collect and drop off at the local bus/train stations in Santa Cita or Tomar.
    My home is 20 minutes by car from Barragem do Castelo de Bode, a hydro-electric dam, and one of the largest reservoirs in Portugal. With beautiful beaches, surrounded by trees, the reservoir is fantastic for swimming, boating and water sports. There is a small wake-boarding resort and pontoons with swimming pools in the lake.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is fibre broadband.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 855726985633

Comentarios (8)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Help welcome around the house and garden in Ponta Delgada, Azores
Help our family create a small forest garden and other sustainable projects in Montemor-o-Novo, Portugal