Help with maintenance and stay in your own private studio overlooking a wild Canadian river - 20 minutes from Ottawa, Canada

  • Canadá
  • 81 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 26 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    I am a retired humanitarian aid worker, having spent 20 years working with the likes of MSF and Oxfam. Am now a boring government official, still working on humanitarian and climate change issues. My wife is a French national and is also longing to go back overseas. For now she keeps busy with all sorts of projects. My 12 year old son will be Canada's finest ballet dancer one day!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Living in an old cottage is requires constant work. Upcoming projects include construction of a wood deck, repairing/refinishing an gorgeous large wood deck and stairs that go down to the river, building a small hay-bale wall and putting a new shingles on the studio roof (your residence). Expected amount of work is 7 working days and prior carpentry experience is required. The other type of work is gardening (3 days).

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    On the property are two separate buildings. There is a small cottage where I live with my wife and son. Down the hill, over looking the river is a separate studio, 600 square feet, complete with bathroom, shower, internet, netflicks and a sauna (see photos). The studio is often rented out through another website - it is all yours and free for your enjoyment through Work Away.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our property is fantastic. We live on a dead-end private dirt road on the edge of what what is easily the coolest village in all of Canada. Only 25 minutes from Ottawa, the village of Wakefield is a toursit attraction in its own right, complete with pubs, grovery store, bank and some of the best live music in Canada (google Black Sheep Inn Wakefield).

    The village sits on the edge of a national park and has a gorgeous river flowing through it with an iconic bridge and water quality that is good enough to drink. While staying with us, there is plenty of other opportunities around for you to explore including hiking, biking, swimming, canoeing, theatre, tons of music (including open mics), and festivals virtually every weekend in the summer - all within walking distance of our place.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 854984378515