Living off-grid in the woods and sustainability in the Alps, Italy

  • 116 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 28 mar 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    Hi, this is Angela and Gaia :) We live in a tiny farm with our three dogs, Luz, Aeon and Nuni, and two cats, Lilith and Ulisse.
    Our farm is in an enchanted wood at 850 meters of altitude and here we take care of a little bit more of one hectare of land. Our house is a former barn made of stone that we renovated using only natural materials like clay, straw, sheep whool and lime. We did two mass heating stoves for cooking, heating the house and hot water.
    We are off-grid (photovoltaic panel and, when necessary, a generator).
    Our garden is no-till and organic and we grow as many different species and variety as we can. We use hay for mulching and do our own compost.
    We prepare sourdough bread, and make our fermented vegetables. We preferably eat what we produce.
    The workawayer will be hosted in a caravan in our property with a composting toilet outside and outdoor shower and kitchen.

    We are aiming to have the smallest impact as we can on our planet, therefore we buy as less animal product as we can, we are not alcohol free but we definitely drink it rarely in special occasions. We honour food keeping a balanced diet and avoiding excess, surely we don't waste anything. We appreciate that the workawayers help us going this direction.

    Since we live at the end of a dirt road, if you come by car, you can safely park in the woods about 500 m away from it, it'll take 7-minute walk to get to the farm.
    Please be aware that this place is quite remote and the only entertainment is Nature, depending on the period you can see deers, foxes, common buzzards, and griffons. Also bears and wolves were spotted close to here even if we haven't seen them...yet.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Carnia (this area) is a mountain region in the Alps, rich of possibility for hiking in the Nature. You can visit museums (geological, etc) and find typical food or all kind of fairs.
    Angela is a teacher of natural building materials, and would be happy to share her knowledge on sustainable building.

  • Ayuda


    Activities include gardening, doing hay, wood chopping, building a greenhouse and fences.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Italiano: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    We'll host the Workawayers in a caravan on our land. If you have a tent and you prefer, you can camp in it. The accomodation is therefore a kind of camping site accomodation with outdoor composting toilet and an out shower with hot water. Please take with you your sleeping bag and towels.
    There is also a small stove in the caravan.
    We'll provide fresh vegetables and fruit (depending on the month) from the garden. Workawayers are in charge of preparing their meals in the caravan that has an outdoor kitchen.
    We appreciate when Workawayers keep the caravan clean also during their stay, not only at the end of their experience here.
    The caravan is totally off-grid and there are 2 USB plug for charging the 24V-DC appliances (e.g. mobiles), there's not the 220V-AC grid (e.g. the one for hairdrier) availability.
    Please be advised there's no WiFi. By the way, internet coverage with mobiles is granted using the Italian phone companies TIM and Vodafone.

    Smoking is not allowed in any space.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Helpers in their time off can relax, hike in the wild nature or go cycling. Our place is one kilometer (20 minutes walking) from the closest village where there is a caffee. Transport is by bus.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Since we live at the end of a dirt road, you can safely park your campervan in the woods about 500 m away from it, it'll take 7-minute walk to get to the farm. Please note that there's no water and electricity in the "parking lot".

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We can possibly accept you with your pet, we just need to have a chat and try to see if they match with our pets ;-)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 854636831923

Comentarios (6)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)