Work, walk, chill, surf, braai, in Galicia, Spain

  • España
  • 1115 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 30/01/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am a surfer, recreational pilot, freediver and have sailed all over the world with my wife and son. Three years ago we sold boat number 12 and purchased a campervan. We love travelling and exploring and surfing. Travelling through Galicia we fell in love with the region. We purchased a small 4 acre property in Galicia, NE Spain. It has 2 houses, a cottage and a large barn The houses are not all habitable yet.
    This region is a fantastic . The property has been uninhabited for many years. The valley is occupied by several small subsistence farmers of different types. They are elderly and in Summer need our help. My long term vision is to create a sustainable organic, low carbon footprint retreat. Being self sufficient after some years. Living a simple but meaningful existence. I would like to move towards our own 12 volt electricity supply from solar wind and water. There is a small mill house on the property that many years ago supplied electricity to the houses, I am hoping to resurrect/replace the machinery and get it working again.
    We don't drink, dont smoke, definitely don't do drugs. And dont want that on our place. I love nature and peace and quiet. The area around our property abounds in walking routes, mountain bike routes and there are multiple uncrowded good surf breaks starting at 15 minutes drive away. I have 3 soft long boards and 2 longboards. You will need to provide your own wetsuit. This may now no longer be an issue due to our relationship with the Surf School. I have taught many people to surf over the years.

    For 2023 we are going to focus on establishing more fruit trees, Enlarging the Vegetable gardens and Chicken house incorporating a free range area.
    We have struck a deal with a local surf school to provide you with gear, lessons etc . for around 15 euros a day including board wetsuit etc. The surf school is owned and run by a really nice man who is a passionate surfer and good all round human being. They will provide surf training and equipment for you so that you can surf independently of me provided you have your own transport. Otherwise you will need to wait for me to take you to the beach and use my boards. He also has similar core values and beliefs to myself in terms of how to teach beginners and what true surfing culture means.
    Galicia is known for being extremely friendly and generous spirited people.
    If you feel like experiencing true paradise. Look no further than Galicia.
    The property we own has a small stream running through it, has many fruit trees. It is truly a wonderful peaceful location. Now that we have cleared much of the property it has become more usable. We have several hammocks and a swing located on the property so you can get away from things and just chill. We are not activists for any cause arent interested in heated debates and just try to live a happy healthy sustainable lifestyle. We do eat meat but cater to all diet types. We do not have wifi for workaways.
    We throw frisbee, make jam, have dinners with our neighbours and surf, skateboard, hike and bike. I am old fashioned and only want people around me who have been well brought up with excellent table manners who are fastidious about their hygiene, friendly, courteous , polite but above all else must have really good manners!! Having a good sense of humour is a prerequisite for coming here. If you are unaware of what is appropriate behaviour when sharing living space with other people rather seek somewhere else.
    The neighbours have been farming all their lives. They make their own butter, cheese, grow their own vegetables, provide almost all their daily needs from their properties. We help them and each workaway this summer will have an opportunity to work there to gain experience and assist these ageing neighbours with farming.
    The knowledge they possess isn't in books. Its knowledge gained from years of farming and worth so much.
    We have a 9 seater bus for transport to the beach
    This coming season we want to .....
    Get one of the three old bread/pizza oven functioning.
    Get more usable accomodation.
    Enlarge the vegetable garden. Expand the herb garden.
    Establish and build a website.
    Establish a community centre and then .....
    Run free English classes for the locals.
    Run free Yoga classes.
    Have regular pot luck get togethers at the community centre.
    Help our elderly neighbours with farm chores during the summer.
    It is our intention as stated to establish a retreat on the property (totally non profit) and our wonderful community looks forward to seeing you all come back year after year.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have many years of surfing experience having surfed all over the world. I am more than happy to help people to surf and fit the work in around the surfing and exploring. We are now partnering with the Surf School in Foz. They will supply all the equipment and provide instruction as part of your stay on our property. I will supply accomodation and purchase most of the food but would want travellers to prepare the food and wash up etc. The project of restoring the property is going to be such a wide ranging experience. The property is very rustic now but is a gorgeous natural setting with a stream running through the property and numerous fruit trees. We may need to stop work to make jam from the fruit when it is ripe! And will always stop work if the surf is good. The local towns of Mondonedo and Lourenza are very close and on the Camino Norte and Santiago trails. Lovely towns to visit. Mondonedo offers pottery classes and drumming classes. We are close to the coast and towns like Ortigueira where the July Celtic music festival happens. The valley of Couboeira is very active in promoting sustainable agriculture and welcoming to foreigners.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I am looking for people with a good work ethic. Polite, Courteous, Non drinkers Non smokers. With established sense of good old fashioned manners. Brush clearing, horticultural skills. Gardening skills. Cooking skills. Carpentry skills. Or just hard workers with great attitudes who like surfing and are super polite. with a great sense of humour.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Afrikaans: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Zulu: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Very basic accomodation. In Tents pitched inside the barn. Later when the houses are habitable there will be better accomodation. I will buy most of the food for normal basic meals, but want the workaways to prepare it all and do washing up etc. Alcohol/ beverages are not included. Snacks are not included. If we go out to eat at a restaurant you are expected to pay for what you order. We do however take the workaways out to eat at a restaurant when we have had a good weeks work.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    So many local towns around that are on the Camino Santiago Trail. Celtic music festival in July in Ortigueira. Surfing mountain biking and hiking. The Catedrales rock formations are 20 minutes away. We are 6 km from the nearest town. Nightlife is zero unless you have a car. There are no buses. We are not walking distance to the beach or towns. You will need your own wetsuit and sleeping bag!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have established several sites on our property for people travelling in campervans. Due to the shortage in usable space, workaways in campervans are easier to host and we welcome them.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 853354237697

Comentarios (17)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





















enjoy the stunning surroundings and help me with some restoration work around the house and maintaining the land. Lugo, Spain
Come and help with organic gardening in Ayamonte, Andalucia, Spain